2004 National Book Critics Circle Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
Fiction: Gilead, Marilynne Robinson (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
General Nonfiction: The Reformation: A History, Diarmaid MacCulloch (Viking)
Biography or Autobiography: De Kooning: An American Master, Mark Stevens and Annalyn Swan (Knopf)
Poetry: The School Among the Ruins, Adrienne Rich (Norton)
Criticism: Where You're At: Notes from the Frontline of a Hip-Hop Planet, Patrick Neate (Riverhead)
Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award: Louis D. Rubin, Jr., founder of Algonquin Press and the author and editor of over 50 books.
Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing: David Orr, New York Times Book Review and Poetry magazine

Sources +