2005 National Book Critics Circle Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
Fiction: The March, E. L. Doctorow (Random House)
General Nonfiction: Voices from Chernobyl: The Oral History of a Nuclear Disaster, Svetlana Alexievich (Dalkey Archive Press)
Biography: American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer, Kai Bird and Martin J. Sherwin (Knopf)
Autobiography: Them: A Memoir of Parents, Francine du Plessix Gray (Penguin Press)
Poetry: Refusing Heaven, Jack Gilbert (Knopf)
Criticism: The Undiscovered Country: Poetry in the Age of Tin, William Logan (Columbia University Press)
Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award: Bill Henderson, founder of Pushcart Press.
Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing: Wyatt Mason, a contributor to Harpers, The New Yorker, and The New Republic.

Sources +