1998 Newbery Medal and Honor Books

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Newbery Medal for Best Book: Out of the Dust, Karen Hesse (Scholastic Press)
Newbery Honor Books: Lily's Crossing, Patricia Reilly Giff (Delacorte Press);
Ella Enchanted, Gail Carson Levine (HarperCollins);
Wringer, Jerry Spinelli (Joanna Cotler Books/HarperCollins)

Sources +