1997 Newbery Medal and Honor Books

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Newbery Medal for Best Book: The View From Saturday, E. L. Konigsburg (Jean Karl/Atheneum)
Newbery Honor Books: A Girl Named Disaster, Nancy Farmer (Richard Jackson/Orchard Books);
Moorchild, Eloise McGraw (Margaret K. McElderry/Simon & Schuster);
The Thief, Megan Whalen Turner (Greenwillow);
Belle Prater's Boy, Ruth White (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

Sources +