1981 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1981 Academy Awards were presented March 29, 1982 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles.

Best PictureAtlantic City, Denis Heroux and John Kemeny, producers (Paramount)
Chariots of Fire, David Puttnam, producer (The Ladd Co.; Warner Bros.)
On Golden Pond, Bruce Gilbert, producer (Universal)
Raiders of the Lost Ark, Frank Marshall, producer (Paramount)
Reds, Warren Beatty, producer (Paramount)
Actor in a Leading RoleWarren Beatty, Reds
Henry Fonda, On Golden Pond
Burt Lancaster, Atlantic City
Dudley Moore, Arthur
Paul Newman, Absence of Malice

Henry Fonda, On Golden Pond
Archive Photos
Actress in a Leading RoleKatharine Hepburn, On Golden Pond
Diane Keaton, Reds
Marsha Mason, Only When I Laugh
Susan Sarandon, Atlantic City
Meryl Streep, The French Lieutenant's Woman
Actor in a Supporting RoleJames Coco, Only When I Laugh
John Gielgud, Arthur
Ian Holm, Chariots of Fire
Jack Nicholson, Reds
Howard E. Rollins, Jr., Ragtime
Actress in a Supporting RoleMelinda Dillon, Absence of Malice
Jane Fonda, On Golden Pond
Joan Hackett, Only When I Laugh
Elizabeth McGovern, Ragtime
Maureen Stapleton, Reds
DirectingWarren Beatty, Reds
Hugh Hudson, Chariots of Fire
Louis Malle, Atlantic City
Mark Rydell, On Golden Pond
Steven Spielberg, Raiders of the Lost Ark
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenWarren Beatty and Trevor Griffiths, Reds
Steve Gordon, Arthur
John Guare, Atlantic City
Kurt Luedtke, Absence of Malice
Colin Welland, Chariots of Fire
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumJay Presson Allen and Sidney Lumet, Prince of the City
Harold Pinter, The French Lieutenant's Woman
Dennis Potter, Pennies From Heaven
Ernest Thompson, On Golden Pond
Michael Weller, Ragtime
CinematographyMiroslav Ondricek, Ragtime
Douglas Slocombe, Raiders of the Lost Ark
Vittorio Storaro, Reds
Alex Thomson, Excalibur
Billy Williams, On Golden Pond
Art DirectionAssheton Gorton, art direction; Ann Mollo, set decoration, The French Lieutenant's Woman
John Graysmark, Patrizia Von Brandenstein and Anthony Reading; art direction; George de Titta, Sr., George de Titta, Jr. and Peter Howitt, set decoration, Ragtime
Tambi Larsen, art direction; Jim Berkey, set decoration, Heaven's Gate
Norman Reynolds and Leslie Dilley, art direction; Michael Ford, set decoration, Raiders of the Lost Ark
Richard Sylbert, art direction; Michael Seirton, set decoration, Reds
SoundMichael J. Kohut, Jay M. Harding, Richard Tyler and Al Overton, Pennies From Heaven
Richard Portman and David Ronne, On Golden Pond
Bill Varney, Steve Maslow, Gregg Landaker and Roy Charman, Raiders of the Lost Ark
Dick Vorisek, Tom Fleischman and Simon Kaye, Reds
John K. Wilkinson, Robert W. Glass, Jr., Robert M. Thirlwell and Robin Gregory, Outland
Original Song“Arthur's Theme” (Best That You Can Do), Arthur, Burt Bacharach, Carole Bayer Sager, Christopher Cross and Peter Allen, music and lyrics
“Endless Love,” Endless Love, Lionel Richie, music and lyrics
“The First Time It Happens,” The Great Muppet Caper, Joe Raposo, music and lyrics
“For Your Eyes Only,” For Your Eyes Only, Bill Conti, music; Mick Leeson, lyrics
“One More Hour,” Ragtime, Randy Newman, music and lyrics
Original ScoreDave Grusin, On Golden Pond
Randy Newman, Ragtime
Alex North, Dragonslayer
Vangelis, Chariots of Fire
John Williams, Raiders of the Lost Ark
Film EditingDede Allen and Craig McKay, Reds
John Bloom, The French Lieutenant's Woman
Michael Kahn, Raiders of the Lost Ark
Terry Rawlings, Chariots of Fire
Robert L. Wolfe, On Golden Pond
Costume DesignMilena Canonero, Chariots of Fire
Tom Rand, The French Lieutenant's Woman
Bob Mackie, Pennies From Heaven
Anna Hill Johnstone, Ragtime
Shirley Russell, Reds
MakeupRick Baker, An American Werewolf in London
Stan Winston, Heartbeeps
Visual EffectsRichard Edlund, Kit West, Bruce Nicholson and Joe Johnston, Raiders of the Lost Ark
Dennis Muren, Phil Tippett, Ken Ralston and Brian Johnson, Dragonslayer
Short Films
AnimationCrac (Frédéric Back, producer; Société Radio Canada)
The Creation (Will Vinton, producer; Will Vinton Productions)
The Tender Tale of Cinderella Penguin (Janet Perlman, producer; National Film Board of Canada)
Live ActionCouples and Robbers (Christine Oestreicher, producer; Flamingo Pictures Ltd.)
First Winter (John N. Smith, producer; National Film Board of Canada)
Violet (Paul Kemp and Shelley Levinson, producers; American Film Institute)
Short SubjectAmericas in Transition (Obie Benz, producer; Americas in Transition, Inc.)
Close Harmony (Nigel Noble, producer; Noble Enterprise)
Journey for Survival (Dick Young, producer; Dick Young Productions, Ltd.)
See What I Say (Linda Chapman, Pam LeBlanc and Freddi Stevens, producers; Michigan Women Filmmakers Productions)
Urge to Build (Roland Hallé and John Hoover, producers; Roland Hallé Productions, Inc.)
FeatureAgainst Wind and Tide: A Cuban Odyssey (Suzanne Bauman, Paul Neshamkin and Jim Burroughs, producers; Seven League Productions, Inc.)
Brooklyn Bridge (Ken Burns, producer; Florentine Films Production)
Eight Minutes to Midnight: A Portrait of Dr. Helen Caldicott (Mary Benjamin, Susanne Simpson and Boyd Estus, producers; The Caldicott Project)
El Salvador: Another Vietnam (Glenn Silber and Tete Vasconcellos, producers; Catalyst Media Productions)
Genocide (Arnold Schwartzman and Rabbi Marvin Hier, producers; Arnold Schwartzman Productions, Inc.)
Foreign Language FilmThe Boat Is Full, Switzerland
Man of Iron, Poland
Mephisto, Hungary
Muddy River, Japan
Three Brothers, Italy
Irving G. Thalberg AwardAlbert R. Broccoli
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian AwardDanny Kaye
Honorary AwardTo Barbara Stanwyck for superlative creativity and unique contribution to the art of screen acting
Special Achievement Award
Sound Effects EditingBenjamin P. Burtt, Jr. and Richard L. Anderson, Raiders of the Lost Ark

Sources +