1939 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1939 Academy Awards were presented Feb. 29, 1940 at the Ambassador Hotel, Los Angeles.

Outstanding ProductionDark Victory (Warner Bros.-First National)
Gone With the Wind (Selznick International Pictures; MGM)
Goodbye, Mr. Chips (MGM)
Love Affair (RKO Radio)
Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (Columbia)
Ninotchka (MGM)
Of Mice and Men (Hal Roach; United Artists)
Stagecoach (Walter Wanger; United Artists)
The Wizard of Oz (MGM)
Wuthering Heights (Goldwyn; United Artists)

Archive Photos
Best ActorRobert Donat, Goodbye, Mr. Chips
Clark Gable, Gone With the Wind
Laurence Olivier, Wuthering Heights
Mickey Rooney, Babes in Arms
James Stewart, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Best ActressBette Davis, Dark Victory
Irene Dunne, Love Affair
Greta Garbo, Ninotchka
Greer Garson, Goodbye, Mr. Chips
Vivien Leigh, Gone With the Wind
Actor in a Supporting RoleBrian Aherne, Juarez
Harry Carey, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Brian Donlevy, Beau Geste
Thomas Mitchell, Stagecoach
Claude Rains, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Actress in a Supporting RoleOlivia de Havilland, Gone With the Wind
Geraldine Fitzgerald, Wuthering Heights
Hattie McDaniel, Gone With the Wind
Edna May Oliver, Drums Along the Mohawk
Maria Ouspenskaya, Love Affair
DirectingFrank Capra, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Victor Fleming, Gone With the Wind
John Ford, Stagecoach
Sam Wood, Goodbye, Mr. Chips
William Wyler, Wuthering Heights
Original StoryMildred Cram and Leo McCarey, Love Affair
Lewis R. Foster, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Felix Jackson, Bachelor Mother
Melchior Lengyel, Ninotchka
Lamar Trotti, Young Mr. Lincoln
ScreenplayCharles Brackett, Walter Reisch and Billy Wilder, Ninotchka
Sidney Buchman, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Ben Hecht and Charles MacArthur, Wuthering Heights
Sidney Howard, Gone With the Wind
Eric Maschwitz, R. C. Sherriff and Claudine West, Goodbye, Mr. Chips
Black-and-WhiteJoseph H. August, Gunga Din
Norbert Brodine, Of Mice and Men
George Folsey, Lady of the Tropics
Tony Gaudio, Juarez
Bert Glennon, Stagecoach
Arthur Miller, The Rains Came
Victor Milner, The Great Victor Herbert
Gregg Toland, Intermezzo
Gregg Toland, Wuthering Heights
Joseph Valentine, First Love
Joseph Walker, Only Angels Have Wings
ColorErnest Haller and Ray Rennahan, Gone With the Wind
Georges Perinal and Osmond Borradaile, Four Feathers
Sol Polito and W. Howard Greene, The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex
Ray Rennahan and Bert Glennon, Drums Along the Mohawk
Hal Rosson, The Wizard of Oz
William V. Skall and Bernard Knowles, The Mikado
Art DirectionLionel Banks, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
James Basevi, Wuthering Heights
William Darling and George Dudley, The Rains Came
Hans Dreier and Robert Odell, Beau Geste
Cedric Gibbons and William A. Horning, The Wizard of Oz
Anton Grot, The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex
Charles D. Hall, Captain Fury
John Victor Mackay, Man of Conquest
Jack Otterson and Martin Obzina, First Love
Van Nest Polglase and Al Herman, Love Affair
Alexander Toluboff, Stagecoach
Lyle Wheeler, Gone With the Wind
Sound RecordingColumbia Studio Sound Dept., Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Denham Studio Sound Dept., Goodbye, Mr. Chips
Hal Roach Studio Sound Dept., Of Mice and Men
MGM Studio Sound Dept., Balalaika
Paramount Studio Sound Dept., The Great Victor Herbert
Republic Studio Sound Dept., Man of Conquest
RKO Radio Studio Sound Dept., The Hunchback of Notre Dame
Samuel Goldwyn Studio Sound Dept., Gone With the Wind
Twentieth Century-Fox Studio Sound Dept., The Rains Came
Universal Studio Sound Dept., When Tomorrow Comes
Warner Bros. Studio Sound Dept., The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex
Song“Faithful Forever,” Gulliver's Travels, Ralph Rainger, music; Leo Robin, lyrics
“I Poured My Heart Into a Song,” Second Fiddle, Irving Berlin, music and lyrics
“Over the Rainbow,” The Wizard of Oz, Harold Arlen, music; E. Y. Harburg, lyrics
“Wishing,” Love Affair, Buddy de Sylva, music and lyrics
ScorePhil Boutelje and Arthur Lange, The Great Victor Herbert
Aaron Copland, Of Mice and Men
Roger Edens and George E. Stoll, Babes in Arms
Cy Feuer, She Married a Cop
Lou Forbes, Intermezzo
Richard Hageman, Frank Harling, John Leipold and Leo Shuken, Stagecoach
Erich Wolfgang Korngold, The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex
Alfred Newman, The Hunchback of Notre Dame
Alfred Newman, They Shall Have Music
Charles Previn, First Love
Louis Silvers, Swanee River
Dimitri Tiomkin, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Victor Young, Way Down South
Original ScoreAnthony Collins, Nurse Edith Cavell
Aaron Copland, Of Mice and Men
Lud Gluskin and Lucien Moraweck, The Man in the Iron Mask
Werner Janssen, Eternally Yours
Alfred Newman, The Rains Came
Alfred Newman, Wuthering Heights
Max Steiner, Dark Victory
Max Steiner, Gone With the Wind
Herbert Stothart, The Wizard of Oz
Victor Young, Golden Boy
Victor Young, Gulliver's Travels
Victor Young, Man of Conquest
Film EditingCharles Frend, Goodbye, Mr. Chips
Gene Havlick and Al Clark, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington
Hal C. Kern and James E. Newcom, Gone With the Wind
Otho Lovering and Dorothy Spencer, Stagecoach
Barbara McLean, The Rains Came
Special EffectsJohn R. Cosgrove, Fred Albin and Arthur Johns, Gone With the Wind
Roy Davidson and Edwin C. Hahn, Only Angels Have Wings
Farciot Edouart, Gordon Jennings and Loren Ryder, Union Pacific
A. Arnold Gillespie and Douglas Shearer, The Wizard of Oz
E. H. Hansen and Fred Sersen, The Rains Came
Byron Haskin and Nathan Levinson, The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex
Roy Seawright, Topper Takes a Trip
Short Subjects
CartoonDetouring America (Merrie Melodies Series) (Warner Bros.)
Peace on Earth (Hugh Harmon, producer; MGM)
The Pointer (Mickey Mouse Series) (Walt Disney Productions; RKO Radio)
The Ugly Duckling (Silly Symphony Series) (Walt Disney Productions; RKO Radio)
One-ReelBusy Little Bears (Paragraphics Series) (Paramount)
Information Please (RKO Radio)
Prophet Without Honor (Miniature Series) (MGM)
Sword Fishing (Vitaphone Variety Series) (Warner Bros.)
Two-ReelDrunk Driving (Crime Doesn't Pay Series) (MGM)
Five Times Five (Pathé; RKO Radio)
Sons of Liberty (Historical Featurette Series) (Warner Bros.)
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial AwardDavid O. Selznick
Special AwardsTo Douglas Fairbanks (Commemorative Award) recognizing his unique and outstanding contribution of Douglas Fairbanks, first president of the Academy, to the international development of the motion picture
To the Motion Picture Relief Fund acknowledging its outstanding services to the industry during the past year and its progressive leadership; presented to Jean Hersholt, president; Ralph Morgan, chairman of the executive committee; Ralph Block, first vice president; and Conrad Nagel
To Judy Garland for her outstanding performance as a screen juvenile during the past year
To William Cameron Menzies for outstanding achievement in the use of color for the enhancement of dramatic mood in the production of Gone With the Wind
To the Technicolor Company for its contributions in successfully bringing three-color feature production to the screen

Sources +