1940 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1940 Academy Awards were presented Feb. 27, 1941 at the Biltmore Hotel, Los Angeles.

Outstanding ProductionAll This, and Heaven Too (Warner Bros.)
Foreign Correspondent (Walter Wanger; United Artists)
The Grapes of Wrath (Twentieth Century-Fox)
The Great Dictator (Charles Chaplin Productions; United Artists)
Kitty Foyle (RKO Radio)
The Letter (Warner Bros.)
The Long Voyage Home (Argosy-Wanger; United Artists)
Our Town (Sol Lesser; United Artists)
The Philadelphia Story (MGM)
Rebecca (Selznick International Pictures, United Artists)
Best ActorCharles Chaplin, The Great Dictator
Henry Fonda, The Grapes of Wrath
Raymond Massey, Abe Lincoln in Illinois
Laurence Olivier, Rebecca
James Stewart, The Philadelphia Story
Best ActressBette Davis, The Letter
Joan Fontaine, Rebecca
Katharine Hepburn, The Philadelphia Story
Ginger Rogers, Kitty Foyle
Martha Scott, Our Town
Actor in a Supporting RoleAlbert Basserman, Foreign Correspondent
Walter Brennan, The Westerner
William Gargan, They Knew What They Wanted
Jack Oakie, The Great Dictator
James Stephenson, The Letter
Actress in a Supporting RoleJudith Anderson, Rebecca
Jane Darwell, The Grapes of Wrath
Ruth Hussey, The Philadelphia Story
Barbara O'Neil, All This, and Heaven Too
Marjorie Rambeau, Primrose Path
DirectingGeorge Cukor, The Philadelphia Story
John Ford, The Grapes of Wrath
Alfred Hitchcock, Rebecca
Sam Wood, Kitty Foyle
William Wyler, The Letter
Original StoryHugo Butler and Dore Schary, Edison, the Man
Benjamin Glazer and John S. Toldy, Arise, My Love
Stuart N. Lake, The Westerner
Leo McCarey, Bella Spewack and Samuel Spewack, My Favorite Wife
Walter Reisch, Comrade X
Original ScreenplayCharles Bennett and Joan Harrison, Foreign Correspondent
Norman Burnside, Heinz Herald and John Huston, Dr. Ehrlich's Magic Bullet
Charles Chaplin, The Great Dictator
Ben Hecht, Angels Over Broadway
Preston Sturges, The Great McGinty

Preston Sturges
Archive Photos
ScreenplayNunnally Johnson, The Grapes of Wrath
Dudley Nichols, The Long Voyage Home
Robert E. Sherwood and Joan Harrison, Rebecca
Donald Ogden Stewart, The Philadelphia Story
Dalton Trumbo, Kitty Foyle
Black-and-WhiteGeorge Barnes, Rebecca
Gaetano Gaudio, The Letter
Ernest Haller, All This, and Heaven Too
James Wong Howe, Abe Lincoln in Illinois
Charles B. Lang, Jr., Arise, My Love
Rudolph Maté, Foreign Correspondent
Harold Rosson, Boom Town
Joseph Ruttenberg, Waterloo Bridge
Gregg Toland, The Long Voyage Home
Joseph Valentine, Spring Parade
ColorOliver T. Marsh and Allen Davey, Bitter Sweet
Arthur Miller and Ray Rennahan, The Blue Bird
Victor Milner and W. Howard Greene, Northwest Mounted Police
Georges Perinal, The Thief of Bagdad
Leon Shamroy and Ray Rennahan, Down Argentine Way
Sidney Wagner and William V. Skall, Northwest Passage
Art Direction
Black-and-WhiteLionel Banks and Robert Peterson, Arizona
James Basevi, The Westerner
Richard Day and Joseph C. Wright, Lillian Russell
Hans Dreier and Robert Usher, Arise, My Love
John DuCasse Schulze, My Son, My Son!
Cedric Gibbons and Paul Groesse, Pride and Prejudice
Alexander Golitzen, Foreign Correspondent
Anton Grot, The Sea Hawk
John Victor Mackay, The Dark Command
John Otterson, The Boys From Syracuse
Van Nest Polglase and Mark-Lee Kirk, My Favorite Wife
Lewis J. Rachmil, Our Town
Lyle Wheeler, Rebecca
ColorRichard Day and Joseph C. Wright, Down Argentine Way
Hans Dreier and Roland Anderson, Northwest Mounted Police
Cedric Gibbons and John S. Detlie, Bitter Sweet
Vincent Korda, The Thief of Bagdad
Sound RecordingColumbia Studio Sound Dept., Too Many Husbands
General Service Sound Dept., The Howards of Virginia
Hal Roach Studio Sound Dept., Captain Caution
MGM Studio Sound Dept., Strike Up the Band
Paramount Studio Sound Dept., Northwest Mounted Police
Republic Studio Sound Dept., Behind the News
RKO Radio Studio Sound Dept., Kitty Foyle
Samuel Goldwyn Studio Sound Dept., Our Town
Twentieth Century-Fox Studio Sound Dept., The Grapes of Wrath
Universal Studio Sound Dept., Spring Parade
Warner Bros. Studio Sound Dept., The Sea Hawk
Song“Down Argentine Way,” Down Argentine Way, Harry Warren, music; Mack Gordon, lyrics
“I'd Know You Anywhere,” You'll Find Out, Jimmy McHugh, music; Johnny Mercer, lyrics
“It's a Blue World,” Music in My Heart, Chet Forrest and Bob Wright, music and lyrics
“Love of My Life,” Second Chorus, Artie Shaw, music; Johnny Mercer, lyrics
“Only Forever,” Rhythm on the River, James Monaco, music; John Burke, lyrics
“Our Love Affair,” Strike Up the Band, Roger Edens and Arthur Freed, music and lyrics
“Waltzing in the Clouds,” Spring Parade, Robert Stolz, music; Gus Kahn, lyrics
“When You Wish Upon a Star,” Pinocchio, Leigh Harline, music; Ned Washington, lyrics
“Who Am I?,” Hit Parade of 1941, Jule Styne, music; Walter Bullock, lyrics
ScoreAnthony Collins, Irene
Aaron Copland, Our Town
Cy Feuer, Hit Parade of 1941
Erich Wolfgang Korngold, The Sea Hawk
Alfred Newman, Tin Pan Alley
Charles Previn, Spring Parade
Artie Shaw, Second Chorus
Georgie Stoll and Roger Edens, Strike Up the Band
Victor Young, Arise, My Love
Original ScoreAaron Copland, Our Town
Louis Gruenberg, The Fight for Life
Richard Hageman, The Howards of Virginia
Richard Hageman, The Long Voyage Home
Leigh Harline, Paul J. Smith and Ned Washington, Pinocchio
Werner Heymann, One Million B.C.
Alfred Newman, The Mark of Zorro
Miklos Rozsa, The Thief of Bagdad
Frank Skinner, The House of Seven Gables
Max Steiner, The Letter
Herbert Stothart, Waterloo Bridge
Franz Waxman, Rebecca
Roy Webb, My Favorite Wife
Meredith Willson, The Great Dictator
Victor Young, Arizona
Victor Young, The Dark Command
Victor Young, Northwest Mounted Police
Film EditingAnne Bauchens, Northwest Mounted Police
Hal C. Kern, Rebecca
Warren Low, The Letter
Robert E. Simpson, The Grapes of Wrath
Sherman Todd, The Long Voyage Home
Special EffectsLawrence Butler, photography; Jack Whitney, sound, The Thief of Bagdad
Jack Cosgrove, photography; Arthur Johns, sound, Rebecca
Paul Eagler, photography; Thomas T. Moulton, sound, Foreign Correspondent
Farciot Edouart and Gordon Jennings, photography, Dr. Cyclops
Farciot Edouart and Gordon Jennings, photography; Loren Ryder, sound, Typhoon
John P. Fulton, photography; Bernard B. Brown and Joseph Lapis, sound, The Boys From Syracuse
John P. Fulton, photography; Bernard B. Brown and William Hedgecock, sound, The Invisible Man Returns
A. Arnold Gillespie, photography; Douglas Shearer, sound, Boom Town
Byron Haskin, photography; Nathan Levinson, sound, The Sea Hawk
R. T. Layton and R. O. Binger, photography; Thomas T. Moulton, sound, The Long Voyage Home
Howard J. Lydecker, William Bradford and Ellis J. Thackery, photography; Herbert Norsch, sound, Women in War
Roy Seawright, photography; Elmer Raguse, sound, One Million B.C.
Fred Sersen, photography; E.H. Hansen, sound, The Blue Bird
Vernon L. Walker, photography; John O. Aalberg, sound, Swiss Family Robinson
Short Subjects
CartoonThe Milky Way (Rudolph Ising Series) (MGM)
Puss Gets the Boot (Cat and Mouse Series) (MGM)
A Wild Hare (Bugs Bunny Series) (Leon Schlesinger, producer; Warner Bros.)
One-ReelLondon Can Take It (Vitaphone Varieties Series) (Warner Bros.)
More About Nostradamus (Miniature Series) (MGM)
Quicker 'n a Wink (Pete Smith Specialties Series) (Pete Smith, producer; MGM)
Siege (Reelism Series) (RKO Radio)
Two-ReelEyes of the Navy (Crime Doesn't Pay Series) (MGM)
Service With the Colors (National Defense Series) (Warner Bros.)
Teddy, the Rough Rider (Historical Featurette Series) (Warner Bros.)
Special AwardsTo Bob Hope in recognition of his unselfish services to the motion picture industry
To Colonel Nathan Levinson for his outstanding service to the industry and the Army during the past nine years, which has made possible the present efficient mobilization of the motion picture industry facilities for the production of Army training films

Sources +