1932–1933 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1932–1933 Academy Awards were presented March 16, 1934 at the Ambassador Hotel, Los Angeles.

Outstanding ProductionCavalcade (Fox)
A Farewell to Arms (Paramount)
42nd Street (Warner Bros.)
I Am a Fugitive From a Chain Gang (Warner Bros.)
Lady for a Day (Columbia)
Little Women (RKO Radio)
The Private Life of Henry VIII (London Films; United Artists)
She Done Him Wrong (Paramount)
Smilin' Through (MGM)
State Fair (Fox)
Best ActorLeslie Howard, Berkeley Square
Charles Laughton, The Private Life of Henry VIII
Paul Muni, I Am a Fugitive From a Chain Gang
Best ActressKatharine Hepburn, Morning Glory
May Robson, Lady for a Day
Diana Wynyard, Cavalcade

Katharine Hepburn, Morning Glory
Archive Photos
DirectingFrank Capra, Lady for a Day
George Cukor, Little Women
Frank Lloyd, Cavalcade
AdaptationPaul Green and Sonya Levien, State Fair
Victor Heerman and Sarah Y. Mason, Little Women
Robert Riskin, Lady for a Day
Original StoryRobert Lord, One Way Passage
Charles MacArthur, Rasputin and the Empress
Frances Marion, The Prizefighter and the Lady
CinematographyGeorge J. Folsey, Reunion in Vienna
Charles Bryant Lang, Jr., A Farewell to Arms
Karl Struss, The Sign of the Cross
Art DirectionWilliam S. Darling, Cavalcade
Hans Dreier and Roland Anderson, A Farewell to Arms
Cedric Gibbons, When Ladies Meet
Sound RecordingParamount Studio Sound Dept., A Farewell to Arms
Warner Bros. Studio Sound Dept., 42nd Street
Warner Bros. Studio Sound Dept., Gold Diggers of 1933
Warner Bros. Studio Sound Dept., I Am a Fugitive From a Chain Gang
Assistant Director (tie)Al Alborn, Warner Bros.
Charles Barton, Paramount
Scott Beal, Universal
Sidney S. Brod, Paramount
Charles Dorian, MGM
Benny Dull, MGM
Fred Fox, United Artists
Gordon Hollingshead, Warner Bros.
Percy Ikerd, Fox
Arthur Jacobson, Paramount
Eddie Killey, RKO Radio
Joe McDonough, Universal
W. J. Reiter, Universal
Frank X. Shaw, Warner Bros.
Benjamin Silvey, United Artists
Dewey Starkey, RKO Radio
William Tummel, Fox
John S. Waters, MGM
Short Subjects
CartoonBuilding a Building (Mickey Mouse Series) (Walt Disney Productions; United Artists)
The Merry Old Soul (Oswald the Rabbit Series) (Walter Lantz Productions; Universal)
The Three Little Pigs (Silly Symphony Series) (Walt Disney Productions; United Artists)
ComedyMister Mugg (Comedies Series) (Warren Doane, producer; Universal)
A Preferred List (Headliner Series #5) (Louis Brock, producer; RKO Radio)
So This Is Harris (Louis Brock, producer; RKO Radio)
NoveltyKrakatoa (Joe Rock, producer; Educational)
Menu (Oddities Series) (Pete Smith, producer; MGM)
The Sea (Battle for Life Series) (Educational)

Sources +