1931–1932 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1931–1932 Academy Awards were presented Nov. 18, 1932 at the Ambassador Hotel, Los Angeles.

Outstanding ProductionArrowsmith (Goldwyn; United Artists)
Bad Girl (Fox)
The Champ (MGM)
Five Star Final (First National)
Grand Hotel (MGM)
One Hour With You (Paramount Publix)
Shanghai Express (Paramount Publix)
The Smiling Lieutenant (Paramount Publix)
Best Actor (tie)Wallace Beery, The Champ
Alfred Lunt, The Guardsman
Fredric March, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
Best ActressMarie Dressler, Emma
Lynn Fontanne, The Guardsman
Helen Hayes, The Sin of Madelon Claudet
DirectingFrank Borzage, Bad Girl
King Vidor, The Champ
Josef Von Sternberg, Shanghai Express
AdaptationEdwin Burke, Bad Girl
Percy Heath and Samuel Hoffenstein, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
Sidney Howard, Arrowsmith
Original StoryLucien Hubbard, The Star Witness
Grover Jones and William Slavens McNutt, Lady and Gent
Frances Marion, The Champ
Adela Rogers St. Johns, What Price Hollywood?
CinematographyLee Garmes, Shanghai Express
Ray June, Arrowsmith
Karl Struss, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
Art DirectionRichard Day, Arrowsmith
Lazare Meerson, A Nous la Liberté
Gordon Wiles, Transatlantic
Sound RecordingMGM Studio Sound Dept.
Paramount Publix Studio Sound Department
RKO Radio Studio Sound Dept.
Warner Bros.-First National Studio Sound Dept.
Short Subjects
CartoonFlowers and Trees (Silly Symphony Series) (Walt Disney Productions; United Artists)
It's Got Me Again (Leon Schlesinger, producer; Warner Bros.)
Mickey's Orphans (Mickey Mouse Series) (Walt Disney Productions; Columbia)
ComedyThe Loud Mouth (Mack Sennett, producer; Paramount Publix)
The Music Box (Laurel and Hardy Series) (Hal Roach, producer; MGM)
Scratch-As-Catch-Can (Headliner Series) (RKO Radio)
Stout Hearts and Willing Hands (Masquers Comedies Series) (RKO Radio) (This film was originally announced as a nominee, but before the final voting, it was disqualified and replaced by Scratch-As-Catch-Can.)
NoveltyScreen Souvenirs (Paramount Publix)
Swing High (Sports Champion Series) (MGM)
Wrestling Swordfish (Cannibals of the Deep Series) (Mack Sennett, producer; Educational)
Special AwardTo Walt Disney for the creation of Mickey Mouse

Sources +