United States Federal Bureau of Investigation Directors

Updated June 26, 2019 | Infoplease Staff

Interested in learning who has led the Federal Bureau of Investigation throughout the years? Below is a list of all F.B.I. Directors from 1908 to present. As of May 9, 2017, deputy director Andrew G. McCabe became acting director of the F.B.I. A permanent leader for the bureau is still being determined by the Trump administration.

​​​​​​The J. Edgar Hoover FBI building in D.C.

Director Years
Stanley Finch 1908–1912
Alexander B. Bielaski 1912–1919
William E. Allen 1919 (Acting)
William J. Flynn 1919–1921
William J. Burns 1921–1924
J. Edgar Hoover 1924–1972
L. Patrick Gray 1972–1973 (Acting)
William D. Ruckelshaus 1973 (Acting)
Clarence M. Kelley 1973–1978
James B. Adams 1978 (Acting)
William H. Webster 1979–1987
John Otto 1987 (Acting)
William S. Sessions 1987–1993
Floyd I. Clarke 1993 (Acting)
Louis Freeh 1993–2001
Thomas J. Pickard 2001 (Acting)
Robert S. Mueller 2001–2013
James Comey 2013–2017
Andrew G. McCabe 2017- (Acting)

Associated Press Photo

Related content: Encyclopedia entry on the Federal Bureau of Investigation

Executive Departments and Agencies U.S. Government Central Intelligence Agency Directors

Sources +