Eclipse Awards

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Horse of the Year

Older Male

Older Filly or Mare

3-Year-Old Colt or Gelding

3-Year-Old Filly

2-Year-Old Colt or Gelding

2-Year-Old Filly

Champion Turf Horse

Champion Male Turf Horse

Champion Female Turf Horse


Steeplechase or Hurdle Horse

Outstanding Jockey

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey

Outstanding Trainer

Outstanding Owner

Outstanding Breeder

Outstanding Achievement

Man of the Year

Award of Merit

Special Award

The Eclipse Awards, honoring the Horse of the Year and other champions of the sport, are sponsored by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers Assn. In 1998, the NTRA replaced the Thoroughbred Racing Associations of North America as co-sponsor.

The awards are named after the 18th century racehorse and sire, Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was unbeaten in 18 starts (eight wins were walkovers). As a stallion, Eclipse sired winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derby champions.

Horses listed in CAPITAL letters won the Triple Crown that year. Age of horse in parentheses where necessary.

Multiple winners: (horses): Forego (8); John Henry (7); Affirmed, Lonesome Glory and Secretariat (5); Cigar, Flatterer, Seattle Slew, Skip Away and Spectacular Bid (4); Ack Ack, Azeri, Susan’s Girl, Tiznow and Zaccio (3); All Along, Alysheba, Bayakoa, Black Tie Affair, Cafe Prince, Charismatic, Conquistador Cielo, Desert Vixen, Favorite Trick, Ferdinand, Flawlessly, Flat Top, Go for Wand, High Chaparral, Holy Bull, Housebuster, Kotashaan, Lady’s Secret, Life’s Magic, Miesque, Mineshaft, Morley Street, Open Mind, Paseana, Point Given, Riva Ridge, Silverbulletday, Slew o’ Gold and Spend A Buck (2).

Multiple winners: (people): Jerry Bailey (7); Juddmonte Farms and Laffit Pincay Jr. (6); Bobby Frankel (5); Laz Barrera, Pat Day, John Franks, D. Wayne Lukas, Allen Paulson, Ogden Phipps and Frank Stronach (4); Bob Baffert, Steve Cauthen, Harbor View Farm, Fred W. Hooper, Nelson Bunker Hunt, Mr. & Mrs. Gene Klein, Dan Lasater, John & Betty Mabee, Paul Mellon, Bill Shoemaker, Edward Taylor and Charlie Whittingham (3); Braulio Baeza, C.T. Chenery, Claiborne Farm, Angel Cordero Jr., Kent Desormeaux, Richard Englander, William S. Farish, John W. Galbreath, Chris McCarron, Bill Mott and Mike Smith (2).

Sources +