All-Time Leaders

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

The all-time money-winning horses, trainers and race-winning jockeys of North America, according to the Equibase Company. Records include all available earnings from races in foreign countries. Horses must have had at least one start in the United States or Canada.

Top 30 Horses—Money Won

Note that horses who raced in 2004 are in bold type. Records are through Sept. 29, 2004.

2Skip Away38181069,616,360
3Fantastic Light2512538,486,957
4Smarty Jones98107,613,155
5Pleasantly Perfect179317,349,880
6Silver Charm2412726,944,369
7Captain Steve259376,828,356
9John Henry83391596,591,860
11Singspiel (IRE)29805,952,825
12Falbrav (IRE)2613555,825,517
13Medaglia d'Oro178705,754,720
14Best Pal47181145,668,245
15Taiki Blizzard236825,523,549
16High Chaparral (IRE)1310125,331,231
17Street Cry (IRE)125615,150,837
18Preeminence (JPN)513975,042,956
19Jim and Tonic (FRA)39131344,975,807
20Sunday Silence149504,968,554
21Easy Goer214514,873,770
22Daylami (IRE)2111344,614,762
25Awesome Again129024,374,590
26Moon Ballad (IRE)145314,364,791
27Sulamani (IRE)168314,352,368
28Spend A Buck1510324,220,689
29Pilsudski (IRE)2210624,080,297
30Creme Fraiche641712134,024,727

Top 30 Jockeys—Races Won

Note that jockeys active in 2004 are in bold type. Records are through Sept. 29, 2004.

1Laffit Pincay Jr.379531$236,851,825
2Bill Shoemaker428833123,375,524
3Pat Day328728293,221,817
4Russell Baze318693129,019,330
5David Gall43739624,972,821
6Chris McCarron297141263,985,505
7Angel Cordero Jr.357057164,561,227
8Jorge Velasquez336795125,544,379
9Sandy Hawley31644988,481,292
10Larry Snyder35638847,207,289
11Eddie Delahoussaye366384195,884,940
12Carl Gambardella39634929,389,041
13Earlie Fires4632682,282,240
14John Longden41603224,665,800
15Jerry Bailey35704274,200,851
16Mario Pino27542886,297,965
17Jacinto Vasquez37522885,754,115
18Ron Ardoin31522658,908,059
19Edgar Prado215176145,005,851
20Rick Wilson32493977,288,270
21Rudy Baez25487530,474,225
22Anthony Black34479554,026,591
23Eddie Arcaro31477930,039,543
24Gary Stevens264773210,512,280
25Perry Wayne Ouzts32466626,293,296
26Mark Guidry31463880,553,893
27Don Brumfield37457343,567,861
28Tim Doocy31447354,389,496
29Kent Desormeaux194456172,713,862
30Steve Brooks34445118,239,817

Top 10 Trainers—Races Won

Note that trainers active in 2004 are in bold type. Records are through Sept. 29, 2004.

1D. Wayne Lukas4284$238,366,498
2Bobby Frankel3096166,866,561
3Bill Mott3263133,457,615
4Ron McAnally2415112,190,820
5Charles Whittingham2534109,215,527
6Bob Baffert1426105,299,201
7Richard Mandella164597,457,062
8H. Allen Jerkens356686,504,574
9Claude McGaughey III139785,176,298
10Jack Van Berg634180,298,699

Annual Money LeadersThoroughbred RacingHorse of the Year (1936-70)
Thoroughbred Racing
Sources +