Olympic Field Hockey Through the Years


Multiple gold medals: India (8); Great Britain and Pakistan (3); West Germany/Germany (3),and Netherlands (2).

1908Great Britain, Ireland, Scotland
1920Great Britain, Denmark, Belgium
1928India, Netherlands, Germany
1932India, Japan, United States
1936India, Germany, Netherlands
1948India, Great Britain, Netherlands
1952India, Netherlands, Great Britain
1956India, Pakistan, Germany
1960Pakistan, India, Spain
1964India, Pakistan, Australia
1968Pakistan, Australia, India
1972West Germany, Pakistan, India
1976New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan
1980India, Spain, Soviet Union
1984Pakistan, West Germany, Great Britain
1988Great Britain, West Germany, Netherlands
1992Germany, Australia, Pakistan
1996Netherlands, Spain, Australia
2000Netherlands, South Korea, Australia
2004Australia, Netherlands, Germany
2008Germany, Spain, Australia


Multiple gold medals: Australia (3).

1980Zimbabwe, Czechoslovakia, Soviet Union
1984Netherlands, West Germany, United States
1988Australia, South Korea, Netherlands
1992Spain, Germany, Great Britain
1996Australia, South Korea, Netherlands
2000Australia, Argentina, Netherlands
2004Germany, Netherlands, Argentina
2008Netherlands, China, Argentina


Olympic Gold Medal Winners Event-by-Event (1896-2004)
Sources +