Updated March 4, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

The 2002 U.S. Team players were chosen on the basis of points awarded for wins and top-10 finishes at official LPGA events. The top 10 finishers on the points list automatically qualified for the 12-member team, and U.S. Captain Patty Sheehan selected the final two players.

The 2002 European Team players were chosen on the basis of points awarded weekly to the top 20 finishers at official Ladies European Tour (LET) events. The top seven players in the LET points standings automatically qualify for the 12-member team, and team captain Dale Reid selected the final four players. Ordinarily the European Team captain would pick five players, but because there was a tie for seventh in the point standings, eight players automatically qualified.

United States: Qualifiers—Beth Daniel, Laura Diaz, Juli Inkster, Rosie Jones, Cristie Kerr, Emilee Klein, Kelly Kuehne, Meg Mallon, Michele Redman and Wendy Ward; Captain's selections—Pat Hurst and Kelly Robbins.

Europe: Qualifiers—Raquel Carriedo (Spain), Sophie Gustafson (Sweden), Maria Hjorth (Sweden), Karine Icher (France), Paula Marti (Spain), Suzann Pettersen (Norway), Annika Sorenstam (Sweden) and Iben Tinning (Denmark); Captain's selections—Helen Alfredsson (Sweden), Laura Davies (England), Carin Koch (Sweden) and Mhairi McKay (Scotland).

Sources +