Slam Dunk Contest

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Six players are invited to compete in the slam dunk contest that was held annually from 1984-97 before being replaced by the 2Ball competition. The slam dunk contest made its return in 2000. The players are selected based on “the creativity and artistry they have displayed in dunking” over the course of the season. In the first round, everyone attempts three dunks, one of which must involve a teammate. The dunks are judged by five judges on a scale from six to ten. The top three advance to the final round and attempt two dunks. The combined score of the two dunks determines the winner. First prize: $25,000.

First RoundPts
DeShawn Stevenson, Utah95
Baron Davis, Cha94
Desmond Mason, Sea91
Jonathan Bender, Ind90
Stromile Swift, Van90
Corey Maggette, LAC88
Desmond Mason89
DeShawn Stevenson85
Baron Davis77

NBA/WNBA All-Star 2Ball2000-2001 SeasonNBA Regular Season Individual Leaders
NBA and WNBA: 2000-2001 Season
Sources +