Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

The 1999 U.S. Ryder Cup Team was chosen on the basis of points compiled by the PGA of America, early 1998, through the 81st PGA Championship, Aug. 12-15, 1999. Points are awarded for top-10 finishes at PGA Tour co-sponsored or sanctioned events, with added emphasis on major championships and events played during the Ryder Cup year. The top 10 finishers on the points list automatically qualified for the 12-member team, and U.S. Captain Ben Crenshaw selected the final two players?Steve Pate and Hal Sutton.

The 1999 European Team Points Table began in September 1998, and concluded on August 22, 1999, after the BMW International Open. The top 10 players in the Points Table qualified automatically for the team, with European Captain Mark James selecting two additional players to complete the team?Andrew Coltart and Jesper Parnevik.

United States: Qualifiers? David Duval, Jim Furyk, Justin Leonard, Tom Lehman, Davis Love III, Jeff Maggert, Phil Mickelson, Mark O'Meara, Payne Stewart and Tiger Woods; Captain's Selections? Steve Pate and Hal Sutton.

Europe: Qualifiers? Darren Clarke (N. Ireland), Sergio Garcia (Spain), Padraig Harrington (Ireland), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain), Paul Lawrie (Scotland), Colin Montgomerie (Scotland), Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain), Jarmo Sandelin (Sweden), Jean Van de Velde (France) and Lee Westwood (England); Captain's Selections? Andrew Coltart (Scotland) and Jesper Parnevik (Sweden).

Sources +
See also: