1997 Final Regular Season Standings

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Conference champions (*) and playoff qualifiers (†) are noted. SOW refers to shootout wins. Teams receive three points for a win and one point for a shootout win. SOW are included in W (win) column. The GF and GA columns refer to Goals For and Goals Against in regulation play. Number of seasons listed after each head coach refers to current tenure with club through the 1997 season.

Eastern Conference

*D.C. United21115570534
Tampa Bay17154555603
New England15173740534
Head Coaches: DC— Bruce Arena (2nd season); TB— John Kowalski (1st); Clb— Tom Fitzgerald (1st); NE— Tom Rongen (1st); NY/NJ— Carlos Alberto Parreira (1st).

Western Conference

*Kansas City21114957517
Los Angeles16164455442
San Jose12203055593
Head Coaches: KC— Ron Newman (2nd season); LA— fired Lothar Osiander (2nd, 3-9) on June 10 and replaced him with asst. Octavio Zambrano (13-7); Dal— David Dir (2nd); Colo— Glenn Myernick (1st); SJ— fired Laurie Calloway (2nd, 5-10) on June 23 and replaced him with Brian Quinn (7-10).

Major League SoccerLeading Scorers
Major League Soccer
Sources +