Gena Rowlands Biography

Gena Rowlands

(Virginia Rowlands)
Born: 6/19/1934
Birthplace: Cambria, Wisconsin

Rowlands has sustained a long career in television, film, and theater. She appeared in the TV shows The Alfred Hitchcock Hour (1962), Peyton Place (1967), and Marcus Welby, M.D. (1969). She was nominated for Oscars for her performances in A Woman Under the Influence (1974) and Gloria (1980); both films were directed by her husband, John Cassavetes. She won Emmy Awards for the title role in The Betty Ford Story (1987) and her role in Face of a Stranger (1991). She has also appeared in Unhook the Stars (1996), Hope Floats (1998), The Mighty (1998), Playing by Heart (1998), The Weekend (1999), and The Notebook (2004).

Mickey RourkeRMike Royko
Entertainment Bios — R
See also: