Final VISA 3–year old Series Standings

The VISA Championship Series consists of 44 stakes races to determine the VISA Three-Year-Old Champion. Points are awarded to the first, second and third-place finishers as follows: Triple Crown races are scored 15-10-7; Grade I races are scored 10-7-5; Grade II races 7-5-3; and Grade III and ungraded 5-3-1. Top 20 horses, jockeys and trainers are listed below.


1Silver Charm57
2Free House56
3Captain Bodgit38
4Touch Gold32
 Frisk Me Now22
 Smoke Glacken21
9Deputy Commander20
 Wild Rush15
13Phantom On Tour13
14Awesome Again12
 Crypto Star12
17Hello (IRE)11
19Banker's Gold10
 Smokin Mel10


1Gary Stevens75
2Chris McCarron57
3Kent Desormeaux54
4Mike Smith43
5Alex Solis42
6Jerry Bailey36
7Craig Perret31
 Shane Sellers31
9David Flores24
10Eddie King Jr.22
11Pat Day20
 Corey Nakatani20
13Larry Melancon13
 John Velazquez13
15C.H. Marquez, Jr.12
16Eddie Maple10
 Herb McCauley10
 Richard Migliore10
19Gary Boulanger8
20Goncalino Almeida7


1Bob Baffert85
2Paco Gonzalez56
3David Hofmans44
4Gary Capuano38
5D. Wayne Lukas28
6Frank Brothers24
7Robert Durso22
8Henry Carroll21
9Wallace Dollase20
10Nick Zito19
11H. James Bond17
 Richard Mandella17
13Ben Perkins, Sr.16
14H. Allen Jerkens13
 Lynn Whiting13
16Wayne Catalano12
 John Tammaro III12
18Ron McAnally11
19John DeStefano10
 John Kimmel10
 Bill Mott10

Major Stakes RacesThoroughbred RacingThe 1997 Triple Crown