Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

Selections for the 1997 United States team were determined by a special Ryder Cup points system that ranked players from the beginning of 1996 through the 1997 PGA Championship ending on August 17, 1997. The top ten players were joined by U.S. captain Tom Kite's two selections, Fred Couples and Lee Janzen.

The 1997 European squad was fielded via a points system that began with the One 2 One British Masters on August 28-31, 1996 and ended with the BMW Inernational Open on August 28-31, 1997. The top ten players were joined by Europe captain Seve Ballesteros's two selections, Nick Faldo and Jesper Parnevik.

United States: Qualifiers— Brad Faxon, Jim Furyk, Scott Hoch, Tom Lehman, Justin Leonard, Davis Love III, Jeff Maggert, Phil Mickelson, Mark O'Meara and Tiger Woods; Captain's Selections— Fred Couples and Lee Janzen.

Europe: Qualifiers— Thomas Bjorn (Denmark), Darren Clarke (N. Ireland), Ignacio Garrido (Spain), Per-Ulrik Johansson (Sweden), Bernhard Langer (Germany), Colin Montgomerie (Scotland), Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain), Costantino Rocca (Italy), Lee Westwood (England) and Ian Woosnam (Wales); Captain's Selections— Nick Faldo (England) and Jesper Parnevik (Sweden). Injured Miguel Angel Martin (Spain) qualified and is considered a non-playing member of the European team.

Sources +
See also: