Defensive Player of the Year

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Player of the Year

Tim Duncan, Wake ForestAP, Naismith, Wooden, NABC, TSN, USBWA

Wooden Award Voting

Presented since 1977 by the Los Angeles Athletic Club and named after the former Purdue All-America and UCLA coach John Wooden. Voting done by 984-member panel of national media; candidates must have a cumulative college grade point average of 2.0 (out of 4.0).

1Tim Duncan, Wake ForestSr.C4764
2Keith Van Horn, UtahSr.F4017
3Raef LaFrentz, KansasJr.F2870
4Ron Mercer, KentuckySo.F2840
5Jacque Vaughn, KansasSr.G1956
6Brevin Knight, StanfordSr.G1787
7Danny Fortson, CincinnatiJr.F1773
8Antawn Jamison, North CarolinaSo.F1552
9Bobby Jackson, MinnesotaSr.G1431
10Charles O'Bannon, UCLASr.F1030

The Henry Iba Award, for defensive skills, sportsmanship and dedication; first presented by the Rotary Club of River Oaks in Houston in 1987 and named after the late Oklahoma St. and U.S. Olympic team coach. Voting done by NABC.

Tim Duncan, Wake Forest, C

Coaches of the Year

Clem Haskins, MinnesotaAP, NABC, USBWA
Roy Williams, KansasNaismith, TSN

Final NCAA Men's Division I Standings1996-97 SeasonConsensus All-America Team
1997 NCAA College Basketball Season Overview
Sources +