1988 College Basketball Recap

Updated August 5, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Final AP Top 20

Major Conference Champions

NCAA Tournament (64 teams)

NIT Tournament (32 teams)

Players of the Year

Coaches of the Year

Consensus All-America

Did someone say “parity”? For the third time in six years, a decided underdog won the NCAA championship.

Unranked Kansas, entering the tournament with 11 losses, beat Big Eight rival and third-ranked Oklahoma, 83–79. Danny Manning scored 31 points to lead the Jayhawks to their first national title since 1952.

In November, however, Kansas was put on probation for recruiting violations and became the first champion to be barred from defending its title.

Sources +