1986 College Basketball Recap

Updated August 5, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Final AP Top 20

Major Conference Champions

NCAA Tournament (64 teams)

NIT Tournament (32 teams)

Players of the Year

Coaches of the Year

Consensus All-America

“Never Nervous” Pervis Ellison scored 25 points and grabbed 11 rebounds to lead No.7 Louisville to a 72–69 victory over top-ranked Duke in the NCAA Final. The title was the Cardinals' second of the decade. As tourney MVP, Ellison was the first freshman to win the honor since Utah's Arnie Ferrin in 1944.

No.3 St. John's had the Player of the Year for the second straight season (last year Chris Mullin, this year Walter Berry), but exited the NCAAs in the second round.

This was also the year the NCAA adopted the 45-second clock and started awarding two shots and possession of the ball for an intentional foul.

Sources +