Manager of the Year

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Manager of the Year

Voted on by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Two awards (one for each league) presented since 1983. Note that (*) indicates manager's team won division championship and (†) indicates unofficial division won in 1994.

Multiple winners: Tony La Russa (4); Dusty Baker (3); Sparky Anderson, Bobby Cox, Tommy Lasorda, Jim Leyland, Jack McKeon, Lou Piniella and Joe Torre (2).

National League

Year Improvement
1983Tommy Lasorda, LA88-74to91-71*
1984Jim Frey, Chi71-91to96-75*
1985Whitey Herzog, St. L84-78to101-61*
1986Hal Lanier, Hou.83-79to96-66*
1987Buck Rodgers, Mon78-83to91-71
1988Tommy Lasorda, LA73-89to94-67*
1989Don Zimmer, Chi77-85to93-69*
1990Jim Leyland, Pit74-88to95-67*
1991Bobby Cox, Atl65-97to94-68*
1992Jim Leyland, Pit98-64*to96-66*
1993Dusty Baker, SF72-90to103-59
1994Felipe Alou, Mon94-68to74-40†
1995Don Baylor, Col53-64to77-67
1996Bruce Bochy, SD70-74to91-71
1997Dusty Baker, SF68-94to90-72
1998Larry Dierker, Hou84-78to102-60*
1999Jack McKeon, Cin77-85to96-67
2000Dusty Baker, SF86-76to97-65*
2001Larry Bowa, Phi65-97to86-76
2002 Tony La Russa, St.L93-69 to 97-65*
2003Jack McKeon, Fla79-83 to91-71

American League

Year Improvement
1983Tony La Russa, Chi87-75to99-63*
1984Sparky Anderson, Det92-70to104-58*
1985Bobby Cox, Tor89-73to99-62*
1986John McNamara, Bos81-81to95-66*
1987Sparky Anderson, Det87-75to98-64*
1988Tony La Russa, Oak81-81to104-58*
1989Frank Robinson, Bal54-107to87-75
1990Jeff Torborg, Chi69-92to94-68
1991Tom Kelly, Min74-88to95-67*
1992Tony La Russa, Oak84-78to96-66*
1993Gene Lamont, Chi.86-76to94-68*
1994Buck Showalter, NY88-74to70-43†
1995Lou Piniella, Sea49-63to79-66*
1996Joe Torre, NY79-65to92-70
& Johnny Oates, Tex74-70to90-72
1997Davey Johnson, Bal88-74to98-64
1998Joe Torre, NY96-66to114-48*
1999Jimy Williams, Bos92-70to94-68
2000Jerry Manuel, Chi75-86to95-67*
2001Lou Piniella, Sea91-71to116-46*
2002 Mike Scioscia, Ana 75-87 to 99-63
2003 Tony Pena, KC 62-100 to 83-79

Rookie of the YearAnnual Awards
Annual Awards: MLB Awards for Individuals
Sources +