Saturn's Moons

Updated February 11, 2017 | Infoplease Staff



Saturn has 56 known moons, nine of which were announced in June 2006 and are known by the temporary designations S/2004 S19 and S/2006 S1 through S8. The five largest moons?Tethys, Dione, Rhea, Titan, and Iapetus?range from 650 to 3,200 mi (1,060 to 5,150 km) in diameter. The planet's outstanding satellite is Titan, first discovered by the Dutch astronomer Christiaan Huygens in 1656.

Sources +