Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research

Updated June 26, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Each year the Albany Medical Center honors a physician, scientist, or group whose work has led to significant advances in the fields of health care and biomedical research.

2001 Dr. Arnold J. Levine, president of Rockefeller University, for his seminal findings as codiscoverer of the p53 gene and his ongoing research and many other scientific contributions.
2002 Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, AIDS researcher and director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, for his seminal research in AIDS and other diseases of the immune system, his overall contributions to the advancement of science, and his distinguished public service.
2003 Dr. Michael S. Brown and Dr. Joseph L. Goldstein, both distinguished chairs at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, for their research on how a family of proteins regulates cholesterol synthesis. Brown and Goldstein shared a 1985 Nobel Prize in Medicine.
2004 Dr. Stanley N. Cohen, distinguished professor at Stanford University, and Dr. Herbert W. Boyer, cofounder of the biotechnology company Genentech Inc. and professor emeritus at the University of California at San Francisco, for their groundbreaking research discovering recombinant DNA, known as gene cloning. Their work paved the way for the modern biotechnology industry.
2005 Robert Langer, professor of chemical and biomedical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for developing an implantable, biodegradable polymer that delivers chemotherapy directly to a tumor.
2006 Seymour Benzer, professor of neuroscience at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, Calif., for demonstrating that mutations in single genes of fruit flies can radically change their behavior. His work with the fruit fly is the foundation for the study and treatment of human neurological diseases.
2007 Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD, professor of medicine and biochemistry at Duke Univesity in Durham, N.C.; Solomon H. Snyder, MD, professor of neurosciences, psychiatry, and pharmacology at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine in Baltimore; and Ronald M. Evans, PhD, professor of gene expression at The Salk Institute for Biological Studies in La Jolla, Calif., for discovering how cells use receptors to communicate with their environment. The discovery allowed researchers to develop drugs including cortisone, antihistamines, anti-depressants, and estrogens.

Sources +