1999 National Medal of Technology Recipients

Updated June 26, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Glen Jacob Culler, chief scientist and chairman of the board (retired), Culler Scientific Systems Corporation, for pioneering innovations in multiple branches of computing, including early efforts in digital speech processing, invention of the first online system for interactive graphical mathematics computing, and pioneering work on the ARPAnet.

Raymond Kurzweil, founder, chairman and chief executive officer, Kurzweil Technologies, Inc., for pioneering achievements in computer science, such as voice recognition, which have overcome many barriers and enriched the lives of disabled persons and all Americans.

Robert A. Swanson (deceased), chairman of K & E Management, Ltd., for his foresight and leadership in recognizing the commercial promise of recombinant DNA technology and his seminal role in the establishment and development of the biotechnology industry.

Robert W. Taylor, retired, for visionary leadership in the development of modern computing technology, including the ARPAnet, the personal computer, and the graphical user interface.

Symbol Technologies, Inc., for creating the global market for laser bar-code scanning and for technical innovation in and practical application of mobile computing and wireless local area network technologies.

Sources +