Poets Laureate of the United States

The National Poets

The Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress is appointed by the Librarian of Congress and serves from October to May. The position has existed under two separate titles: from 1937 to 1986 as ?Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress? and from 1986 forward as ?Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry.? The name was changed by an act of Congress in 1985. The current Poet Laureate is Joy Harjo.

Consultants in Poetry
Joseph Auslander1937-1941
Allen Tate1943-1944
Robert Penn Warren1944-1945
Louise Bogan1945-1946
Karl Shapiro1946-1947
Robert Lowell1947-1948
Leonie Adams1948-1949
Elizabeth Bishop1949-1950
Conrad Aiken1950-1952
William Carlos Williams1952
Randall Jarrell1953-1960
Robert Frost1958-1959
Richard Eberhart1959-1961
Louis Untermeyer1961-1963
Howard Nemerov1963-1964
Reed Whittemore1964-1965
Stephen Spender1965-1966
James Dickey1966-1968
William Jay Smith1968-1970
William Stafford1970-1971
Josephine Jacobsen1971-1973
Daniel Hoffman1973-1974
Stanley Kunitz1974-1976
Robert Hayden1976-1978
William Meredith1978-1980
Maxine Kumin1981-1982
Anthony Hecht1982-1984
Robert Fitzgerald1984-1985
Reed Whittemore1984-1985
Gwendolyn Brooks1985-1986
Poets Laureate
Robert Penn Warren1986-1987
Richard Wilbur1987-1988
Howard Nemerov1988-1990
Mark Strand1990-1991
Joseph Brodsky1991-1992
Mona Van Duyn1992-1993
Rita Dove1993-1995
Robert Hass1995-1997
Robert Pinsky1997-2000
Stanley Kunitz2000-2001
Billy Collins2001-2003
Louise Glck2003-2004
Ted Kooser2004-2006
Donald Hall2006-2007
Charles Simic2007-2008
Kay Ryan2008-2010
W.S. Merwin2010-2011
Philip Levine2011-2012
Natasha Trethewey2012-2014
Charles Wright2014-2015
Juan Felipe Herrera2015-2017
Tracy K. Smith2017-2019
Joy Harjo2019-
NOTE: The post was established in 1985. Appointment is for a one-year term, but is renewable.
Best American Journalism of the 20th CenturyLiterature and BooksPoets Laureate of England
Literature and Books