Pulitzer Prize for Poetry

Updated June 14, 2021 | Infoplease Staff

The premier prize for American poetry

The Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, first given in 1922, is widely recognized as one of the biggest prizes in the American publishing industry. It's important to note that the prize is given for a published collection, rather than for individual poems. You'll find many Best Of collections dotting the list.


1918Love Songs, Sara Teasdale
1919Old Road to Paradise, Margaret Widdemer;
 Corn Huskers, Carl Sandburg
1922Collected Poems, Edwin Arlington Robinson
1923The Ballad of the Harp-Weaver; A Few Figs from Thistles; eight sonnets in American Poetry, 1922, A Miscellany, Edna St. Vincent Millay
1924New Hampshire: A Poem With Notes and Grace Notes, Robert Frost
1925The Man Who Died Twice, Edwin Arlington Robinson
1926What's O'Clock, Amy Lowell
1927Fiddler's Farewell, Leonora Speyer
1928Tristram, Edwin Arlington Robinson
1929John Brown's Body, Stephen Vincent Benét
1930Selected Poems, Conrad Aiken
1931Collected Poems, Robert Frost
1932The Flowering Stone, George Dillon
1933Conquistador, Archibald MacLeish
1934Collected Verse, Robert Hillyer
1935Bright Ambush, Audrey Wurdemann
1936Strange Holiness, Robert P. T. Coffin
1937A Further Range, Robert Frost
1938Cold Morning Sky, Marya Zaturenska
1939Selected Poems, John Gould Fletcher
1940Collected Poems, Mark Van Doren
1941Sunderland Capture, Leonard Bacon
1942The Dust Which Is God, William Rose Benét
1943A Witness Tree, Robert Frost
1944Western Star, Stephen Vincent Benét
1945V-Letter and Other Poems, Karl Shapiro
1947Lord Weary's Castle, Robert Lowell
1948The Age of Anxiety, W. H. Auden
1949Terror and Decorum, Peter Viereck
1950Annie Allen, Gwendolyn Brooks
1951Complete Poems, Carl Sandburg
1952Collected Poems, Marianne Moore
1953Collected Poems, 1917–1952, Archibald MacLeish
1954The Waking, Theodore Roethke
1955Collected Poems, Wallace Stevens
1956Poems—North & South, Elizabeth Bishop
1957Things of This World, Richard Wilbur
1958Promises: Poems, 1954–1956, Robert Penn Warren
1959Selected Poems, 1928–1958, Stanley Kunitz
1960Heart's Needle, William Snodgrass
1961Times Three: Selected Verse From Three Decades, Phyllis McGinley
1962Poems, Alan Dugan
1963Pictures From Breughel, William Carlos Williams
1964At the End of the Open Road, Louis Simpson
196577 Dream Songs, John Berryman
1966Selected Poems, Richard Eberhart
1967Live or Die, Anne Sexton
1968The Hard Hours, Anthony Hecht
1969Of Being Numerous, George Oppen
1970Untitled Subjects, Richard Howard
1971The Carrier of Ladders, William S. Merwin
1972Collected Poems, James Wright
1973Up Country, Maxine Winokur Kumin
1974The Dolphin, Robert Lowell
1975Turtle Island, Gary Snyder
1976Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror, John Ashbery
1977Divine Comedies, James Merrill
1978Collected Poems, Howard Nemerov
1979Now and Then: Poems, 1976–1978, Robert Penn Warren
1980Selected Poems, Donald Rodney Justice
1981The Morning of the Poem, James Schuyler
1982The Collected Poems, Sylvia Plath
1983Selected Poems, Galway Kinnell
1984American Primitive, Mary Oliver
1985Yin, Carolyn Kizer
1986The Flying Change, Henry Taylor
1987Thomas and Beulah, Rita Dove
1988Partial Accounts: New and Selected Poems, William Meredith
1989New and Collected Poems, Richard Wilbur
1990The World Doesn't End, Charles Simic
1991Near Changes, Mona Van Duyn
1992Selected Poems, James Tate
1993The Wild Iris, Louise Gluck
1994Neon Vernacular, Yusef Komunyakaa
1995Simple Truth, Philip Levine
1996The Dream of the Unified Field, Jorie Graham
1997Alive Together: New and Selected Poems, Lisel Mueller
1998Black Zodiac, Charles Wright
1999Blizzard of One, Mark Strand
2000Repair, C. K. Williams
2001Different Hours, Stephen Dunn
2002Practical Gods, Carl Dennis
2003Moy Sand and Gravel, Paul Muldoon
2004Walking to Martha's Vineyard, Franz Wright
2005Delights & Shadows, Ted Kooser
2006Late Wife, Claudia Emerson
2007Native Guard, Natasha Trethewey
2008Time and Materials, Robert Hass
 Failure, Philip Schultz
2009The Shadow of Sirius, W. S. Merwin
2010Versed, Rae Armantrout
2011The Best of It: New and Selected Poems, Kay Ryan
2012Life on Mars, Tracy K. Smith
2013Stag's Leap, Sharon Olds
20143 Sections, Vijay Seshadri
2015Digest, Gregory Pardlo
2016Ozone Journal, Peter Balakian
2017Olia, Tyehimba Jess
2018Half-light: Collected Poems 1956-2016, Frank Bidart
2019Be With, Forrest Gander
2020The Tradition, Jericho Brown
2021Postcolonial Love Poem, Natalie Diaz

1. The poetry prize was established in 1922. The 1918 and 1919 awards were made from gifts provided by the Poetry Society.

Sources +