2002 Cannes Film Festival

Updated June 26, 2020 | Infoplease Staff
Palme d'OrThe Pianist, Roman Polanski (Poland)
Grand PrizeThe Man Without a Past, Aki Kaurismäki (Finland)
Jury PrizeYadon Ilaheyya, Elia Suleiman (France/Morocco/Germany)
55th Anniversary PrizeBowling for Columbine, Michael Moore (United States)
Best ActorOlivier Gourmet, Le Fils (France)
Best ActressKati Outinen, The Man Without a Past (Finland)
Direction (co-winners)Paul Thomas Anderson, Punch-Drunk Love (United States), Kwon-Taek Im Chiwaseon (South Korea)
ScreenplayPaul Laverty, Sweet Sixteen (United Kingdom)
Palme d'Or for Short FilmAfter Rain, Péter Meszaros (Hungary)
Jury Prize for Short Film (co-winners)A Very Very Silent Film, Manish Jha (India) and The Stone of Folly Jesse Rosensweet (Canada)

Sources +