1998-99 NBA IBM Award

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

Created prior to the 1983-84 season to honor the player who contributes most to his team's overall success and utilizes a computer evaluation of key offensive and defensive statistics to determine an overall leader. The formula is as follows: (Player pts.-FGA+REB+AST+STL+BLK-PF-TO+(team wins x 10) x 250)/(team pts.-FGA+REB+AST+STL+BLK-PF-TO).

  Pos Pts
Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta C 115.67
Shaquille O'Neal, LAL C 102.86
Alonzo Mourning, Miami C 100.63
Grant Hill, Detroit F 98.49
Karl Malone, Utah F 98.27
Jason Kidd, Phoenix G 98.21
Tim Duncan, San Antonio F 94.17
David Robinson, San Antonio C 91.85
Charles Barkley, Houston F 90.67
Kevin Garnett, Minnesota F 87.25


All-Rookie Team Annual Awards Other Awards


Annual Awards: 1998-99 NBA Season, Pro Basketball
Sources +