1997-98 NBA IBM Award Nominees

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

Created prior to the 1983-84 season to honor the player who contributes most to his team's overall success and utilizes a computer evalutation of key offensive and defensive statistics to determine an overall leader. The formula is as follows: (Player pts.-FGA+REB+AST+STL+BLK-PF-TO+(team wins x 10) x 250)/(team pts.-FGA+REB+AST+STL+BLK-PF-TO).

  Pos Pts
Karl Malone, Utah F 99.69
Tim Duncan, San Antonio F 98.70
David Robinson, San Antonio C 96.66
Grant Hill, Detroit F 92.61
Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta C 90.61
Dennis Rodman, Chicago F 88.31
Anthony Mason, Charlotte F 88.29
Michael Jordan, Chicago G 85.58
Gary Payton, Seattle G 84.27
Rod Strickland, Washington G 84.26


All-Rookie Team Annual Awards Other Awards


1997 Annual Basketball Awards
Sources +