2001-02 NBA Coach of the Year Nominees and Winner

The Red Auerbach Trophy; voting by 126-member panel of local and national pro basketball writers and broadcasters. Each ballot has one entry.

Rick Carlisle, Detroit7332-50 to 50-32
Rick Adelman, Sacramento2155-27 to 61-21
Byron Scott, New Jersey1526-56 to 52-30
Nate McMillan, Seattle744-38 to 45-37
Maurice Cheeks, Portland450-32 to 49-33
Jim O'Brien, Boston236-46 to 49-33
Doug Collins, Washington119-63 to 37-45
Alvin Gentry, LA Clippers131-51 to 39-43
Don Nelson, Dallas153-29 to 57-25
Isiah Thomas, Indiana141-41 to 42-40


All-Defensive TeamsAnnual AwardsRookie of the Year


Annual Awards: 2001-2002 NBA Season, Pro Basketball
Sources +