Annual Awards: 1998-99 Season, Men's College Basketball

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

Player of the Year

Elton Brand, Duke AP, NABC, TSN, USBWA, Naismith, Wooden

Wooden Award Voting

Presented since 1977 by the Los Angeles Athletic Club and named after the former Purdue All-America and UCLA coach John Wooden. Voting done by 1,038-member panel of national media; candidates must have a cumulative college grade point average of 2.0 (out of 4.0) and be making progress toward graduation.

    Cl Pos Pts
1 Elton Brand, Duke So. C 4312
2 Andre Miller, Utah Sr. G 3616
3 Wally Szczerbiak, Miami-OH Sr. F 3108
4 Mateen Cleaves, Michigan St. Sr. G 2964
5 Richard Hamilton, UConn Jr. G 2865
6 Jason Terry, Arizona Sr. G 2745
7 Trajan Langdon, Duke Sr. G 2069
8 Chris Porter, Auburn Jr. F 1437
9 Evan Eschmeyer, Northwestern Sr. C 1127
10 Scott Padgett, Kentucky Sr. F 1048

Coaches of the Year

Cliff Ellis, Auburn AP, USBWA
Mike Krzyzewski, Duke NABC, Naismith
Jim O'Brien, Ohio St. NABC
Note: Krzyzewski and O'Brien shared the NABC Coach of the Year Award.


Final NCAA Men's Division I Standings 1998-99 Season Consensus All-America Team


1998-99 Season
Sources +