2008 Drama Desk Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The Drama Desk, a group of 150 theater critics and reporters, announced the awards on May 18, 2008.

Outstanding Play Tracy Letts, August: Osage County
Outstanding Musical Passing Strange
Outstanding Musical Revival South Pacific
Outstanding Play Revival Boeing-Boeing
Outstanding Actor in a Play Mark Rylance, Boeing-Boeing
Outstanding Actress in a Play Deanna Dunagan, August: Osage County
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play Conleth Hill, The Seafarer
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play Linda Lavin, The New Century
Outstanding Actor in a Musical Paulo Szot, South Pacific
Outstanding Actress in a Musical Patti LuPone, Gypsy
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical Boyd Gaines, Gypsy
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical Laura Benanti, Gypsy
Outstanding Director of a Play Anna D. Shapiro, August: Osage County
Outstanding Director of a Musical Bartlett Sher, South Pacific
Outstanding Choreography Rob Ashford, Cry-Baby
Outstanding Book of a Musical Douglas Carter Beane, Xanadu
Outstanding Music Stew and Heidi Rodewald, Passing Strange
Outstanding Lyrics Stew, Passing Strange
Outstanding Orchestrations Jason Carr, Sunday in the Park with George
Outstanding Set Design of a Play Scott Pask, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
Outstanding Set Design of a Musical Michael Yeargan, South Pacific
Outstanding Costume Design Katrina Lindsay, Les Liaisons Danereuses
Outstanding Lighting Design Kevin Adams, The 39 Steps
Outstanding Sound Design Scott Lehrer, South Pacific
Outstanding Solo Performance Laurence Fishburne, Thurgood
Unique Theatrical Experience The 39 Steps
Outstanding Ensemble Performances Cast of The Dining Roomand cast of The Homecoming
Special Awards Edward Albee
James Earl Jones
59E59 Theaters
Playwrights Horizons

Information Please® Database, © 2008 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.
Sources +