2003 Tony (Antoinette Perry) Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The Tony Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Broadway theater, were presented on June 8, 2003.

Play: Take Me Out
Musical: Hairspray
Revival—Play: Long Day's Journey into Night
Revival—Musical: Nine The Musical
Actor—Play: Brian Dennehy, Long Day's Journey into Night
Actress—Play: Vanessa Redgrave, Long Day's Journey into Night
Actor—Musical: Harvey Fierstein, Hairspray
Actress—Musical: Marissa Jaret Winokur, Hairspray
Featured Actor—Play: Denis O'Hare, Take Me Out
Featured Actress—Play: Michele Pawk, Hollywood Arms
Featured Actor—Musical: Dick Latessa , Hairspray
Featured Actress—Musical: Jane Krakowski, Nine The Musical
Director—Play: Joe Mantello, Take Me Out
Director—Musical: Jack O'Brien, Hairspray
Book—Musical: Thomas Meehan and Mark O'Donnell, Hairspray
Score—Musical: Scott Whittman and Marc Shaiman, Hairspray
Orchestration: Stuart Malina and Billy Joel, Movin' Out
Scenic Designer: Catherine Martin, La Bohème
Costume Designer: William Ivey Long, Hairspray
Choreographer: Twyla Tharp, Movin' Out
Lighting Designer: Nigel Levings, La Bohème
Special Theatrical Event:Russell Simmons' Def Poetry Jam on Broadway
Regional Theater: The Children's Theatre Company
Special Award: Cy Feuer, for lifetime achievement
Tony Honors for Excellence in Theatre: The principal ensemble of La Bohème, Paul Huntley, Johnson-Liff Casting Associates, and The Acting Company

Sources +