1987–1988 Obie Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
Best New American PlayCaryl Churchill, Serious Money
Maria Irene Fornes, Abingdon Square
DirectionAnne Bogart, No Plays No Poetry…
Peter Brook, The Mahabharata
Julie Taymor, Juan Darien
PerformancesKathy Bates, Frankie & Johnny in the Clair de Lune
Larry Bazzell, The Signal Season of Dummy Hoy
Yvonne Bryceland, The Road to Mecca
Victor Garber, Wenceslas Square
Amy Irving, The Road to Mecca
Erland Josephson, The Cherry Orchard
Gordana Rashovich, A Shayna Maidel
John Seitz, Abingdon Square
Peggy Shaw, Dress Suits to Hire
Tina Shepard, The Three Lives of Lucie Cabrol
Lauren Tom, American Notes
DesignEva Buchmuller, sustained excellence of stage design
Huck Snyder, sustained excellence of scenic design
Sustained AchievementRichard Foreman

Sources +