1984–1985 Obie Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
New American PlayMaria Irene Fornes, The Conduct of Life
PlaywritingRosalyn Drexler, Transients Welcome
Christopher Durang, The Marriage of Bette and Boo
William M. Hoffman, As Is
DirectionJohn Malkovich, Balm in Gilead
Barbara Vann, Bound to Rise
Jerry Zaks, The Foreigner and The Marriage of Bette and Boo
PerformancesDennis Boutsikaris, The Nest of the Woodgrouse
Frances Foster, sustained excellence in performance
Jonathan Hadary, As Is
Anthony Heald, Henry V, The Foreigner and Digby
Laurie Metcalf, Balm in Gilead
John Turturro, Danny and the Deep Blue Sea
Ron Vawter, sustained excellence in performance
Ensemble PerformancesCharles Ludlam and Everett Quinton, The Mystery of Irma Vep
Entire cast, The Marriage of Bette and Boo
MusicPeter Gordon, Otello
Max Roach, Shepardsets
DesignJudy Dearing, costume design
Victor En Yu Tan, lighting design
Loren Sherman, set design
Sustained AchievementMeredith Monk

Sources +