Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The award is administered for the Truman Capote estate by the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop. The $50,000 award is the largest cash prize for literary criticism in the English language.

1996 Helen Vendler, The Given and the Made
1997 John Felstiner, Paul Celan: Poet, Survivor, Jew
1998 John Kerrigan, Revenge Tragedy
1999 Charles Rosen, Romantic Poets, Critics, and Other Madmen
2000 Elaine Scarry, Dreaming by the Book; Philip Fisher, Still the New World
2001 Malcolm Bowie, Proust Among the Stars
2002 Declan Kiberd, Irish Classics
2003 Seamus Heaney, Finders Keepers: Selected Prose 1971–2001
2004 Susan Stewart, Poetry and the Fate of the Senses
2005 Angus Fletcher, A New Theory for American Poetry: Democracy, the Environment, and the Future of Imagination
2006 Geoffrey Hartman, The Geoffrey Hartman Reader
2007 William H. Gass, A Temple of Texts
2008 Helen Small, The Long Life

Sources +