Pritzker Architecture Prize

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

See also Architects

The Pritzker Architecture Prize, sponsored by the Hyatt Foundation of Los Angeles, is considered to be the highest accolade in the profession.

Year Architect(s), country
1979 Philip Johnson, United States
1980 Luis Barragán, Mexico
1981 James Stirling, Great Britain
1982 Kevin Roche, United States
1983 Ieoh Ming Pei, United States
1984 Richard Meier, United States
1985 Hans Hollein, Austria
1986 Gottfried Boehm, Germany
1987 Kenzo Tange, Japan
1988 Gordon Bunshaft, United States, and Oscar Niemeyer, Brazil
1989 Frank O. Gehry, United States
1990 Aldo Rossi, Italy
1991 Robert Venturi, United States
1992 Alvaro Siza, Portugal
1993 Fumihiko Maki, Japan
1994 Christian de Portzamparc, France
1995 Tadao Ando, Japan
1996 Rafael Moneo, Spain
1997 Sverre Fehn, Norway
1998 Renzo Piano, Italy
1999 Sir Norman Foster, United Kingdom
2000 Rem Koolhaas, the Netherlands
2001 Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron, Switzerland
2002 Glenn Murcutt, Australia
2003 Jørn Utzon, Denmark
2004 Zaha Hadid, United Kingdom
2005 Thom Mayne, United States
2006 Paulo Mendes da Rocha, Brazil
2007 Richard Rogers, United Kingdom
2008 Jean Nouvel, France

MacArthur Foundation Awards Science and Other Awards Presidential Medal of Freedom
Science Awards
Sources +
See also: