2016 National Book Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The National Book Awards were presented November 16, 2016, in New York City.

Fiction: The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead (Doubleday/Penguin Random House)
Nonfiction: Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America, Ibram X. Kendi (Nation Books)
Poetry: The Performance of Becoming Human, Daniel Borzutzky (Brooklyn Arts Press)
Young People's Literature: March: Book Three, Congressman John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell (Top Shelf Productions/IDW Publishing)

Sources +