2001 Newbery Medal and Honor Books

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Newbery Medal for Best Book: A Year Down Yonder, Richard Peck (Dial Books for Young Readers)
Newbery Honor Books: Because of Winn Dixie, Kate Di Camillo (Candlewick Press);
Hope Was Here, Joan Bauer (G. P. Putnam's Sons);
The Wanderer, Sharon Creech (Joanna Cotler/HarperCollins);
Joey Pigza Loses Control, Jack Gantos (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

Sources +