2000 PEN Literary Award Winners

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
PEN/Nabokov Award for Career AchievementWilliam Gass
PEN/Laura Pels Award for DramaHorton Foote, master American dramatist
Suzan-Lori Parks, playwright in mid-career
PEN/Voelcker Award for PoetryHeather McHugh
PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal for TranslationEdmund Keeley
PEN/Architectural Digest Award for Literary Writing on the Visual ArtsAnne Hollander, Feeding the Eye (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
PEN/Spielvogel-Diamonstein Award for the Art of the EssayAnnie Dillard, For the Time Being (Knopf)
PEN/Martha Albrand Award for First NonfictionEileen Welsome, The Plutonium Files (Dial)
PEN/Martha Albrand Award for the Art of the MemoirJeffery Smith, Where the Roots Reach for Water (North Point Press)
PEN/Book-of-the-Month Club Translation PrizeSelected Writings, by Gerard De Nerval; Richard Sieburth, translator (Penguin)
PEN Award for Poetry in TranslationThe Selected Poems of Oleh Lysheha, James Brasfield and Oleh Lysheha, translators (Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute)
PEN/Amazon.com Short Story AwardMarlene Reed Wetzel, “A Map of Tripoli, 1967”
Renato Poggioli Translation AwardWendell Ricketts, La segretaria and other one-act plays of Natalia Ginzburg

Sources +