1997 Caldecott Medal and Honor Books

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Caldecott Medal for Best Picture Book: Golem, illustrated and written by David Wisniewski (Clarion/Houghton Mifflin)
Caldecott Honor Books: Hush! A Thai Lullaby, illustrated by Holly Meade, written by Minfong Ho (Orchard Books);
Starry Messenger, illustrated and written by Peter Sis (Frances Foster Books/Farrar, Straus & Giroux);
The Paperboy, Dav Pilkey (Richard Jackson/Orchard Books);
The Graphic Alphabet, David Pelletier (Orchard Books)

Sources +