1995 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1995 Academy Awards were presented March 25, 1996 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles.

Best PictureApollo 13, Brian Grazer, producer (Universal)
Babe, George Miller, Doug Mitchell and Bill Miller, producers (Universal)
Braveheart, Mel Gibson, Alan Ladd, Jr. and Bruce Davey, producers (Paramount)
The Postman (II Postino), Mario and Vittorio Cecchi Gori and Gaetano Daniele, producers (Miramax)
Sense and Sensibility, Lindsay Doran, producer (Columbia)
Actor in a Leading RoleNicolas Cage, Leaving Las Vegas
Richard Dreyfuss, Mr. Holland's Opus
Anthony Hopkins, Nixon
Sean Penn, Dead Man Walking
Massimo Troisi, The Postman (II Postino)

Nicolas Cage, Leaving Las Vegas
Archive Photos
Actress in a Leading RoleSusan Sarandon, Dead Man Walking
Elisabeth Shue, Leaving Las Vegas
Sharon Stone, Casino
Meryl Streep, The Bridges of Madison County
Emma Thompson, Sense and Sensibility
Actor in a Supporting RoleJames Cromwell, Babe
Ed Harris, Apollo 13
Brad Pitt, 12 Monkeys
Tim Roth, Rob Roy
Kevin Spacey, The Usual Suspects
Actress in a Supporting RoleJoan Allen, Nixon
Kathleen Quinlan, Apollo 13
Mira Sorvino, Mighty Aphrodite
Mare Winningham, Georgia
Kate Winslet, Sense and Sensibility
DirectingMike Figgis, Leaving Las Vegas
Mel Gibson, Braveheart
Chris Noonan, Babe
Michael Radford, The Postman (II Postino)
Tim Robbins, Dead Man Walking
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenWoody Allen, Mighty Aphrodite
Christopher McQuarrie, The Usual Suspects
Stephen J. Rivele, Christopher Wilkinson and Oliver Stone, Nixon
Randall Wallace, Braveheart
Joss Whedon, Andrew Stanton, Joel Cohen and Alec Sokolow, Toy Story
Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or PublishedWilliam Broyles, Jr. and Al Reinert, Apollo 13
Mike Figgis, Leaving Las Vegas
George Miller and Chris Noonan, Babe
Anna Pavignano, Michael Radford, Furio Scarpelli, Giacomo Scarpelli and Massimo Troisi, The Postman (II Postino)
Emma Thompson, Sense and Sensibility
CinematographyMichael Coulter, Sense and Sensibility
Stephen Goldblatt, Batman Forever
Emmanuel Lubezki, A Little Princess
John Toll, Braveheart
Lu Yue, Shanghai Triad
Art DirectionTony Burrough, art direction, Richard III
Michael Corenblith, art direction; Merideth Boswell, set decoration, Apollo 13
Roger Ford, art direction; Kerrie Brown, set decoration, Babe
Bo Welch, art direction; Cheryl Carasik, set decoration, A Little Princess
Eugenio Zanetti, art direction, Restoration
SoundRick Dior, Steve Pederson, Scott Millan and David MacMillan, Apollo 13
Donald O. Mitchell, Frank A. Montaño, Michael Herbick and Petur Hliddal, Batman Forever
Steve Maslow, Gregg Landaker and Keith A. Wester, Waterworld
Andy Nelson, Scott Millan, Anna Behlmer and Brian Simmons, Braveheart
Kevin O'Connell, Rick Kline, Gregory H. Watkins and William B. Kaplan, Crimson Tide
Song“Colors of the Wind,” Pocahontas, Alan Menken, music; Stephen Schwartz, lyrics
“Dead Man Walkin',” Dead Man Walking, Bruce Springsteen, music and lyrics
“Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman,” Don Juan DeMarco, Michael Kamen, Bryan Adams and Robert John Lange, music and lyrics
“Moonlight,” Sabrina, John Williams, music; Alan and Marilyn Bergman, lyrics
“You've Got a Friend in Me,” Toy Story, Randy Newman, music and lyrics
Original ScoreJames Horner, Apollo 13
James Horner, Braveheart
John Williams, Nixon
Luis Bacalov, The Postman (II Postino)
Patrick Doyle, Sense and Sensibility
Original Musical or Comedy ScoreMarc Shaiman, The American President
Alan Menken, music; Stephen Schwartz, lyrics, Pocahontas
John Williams, Sabrina
Randy Newman, Toy Story
Thomas Newman, Unstrung Heroes
Film EditingMarcus D'Arcy and Jay Friedkin, Babe
Richard Francis-Bruce, Seven
Mike Hill and Dan Hanley, Apollo 13
Chris Lebenzon, Crimson Tide
Steven Rosenblum, Braveheart
Costume DesignJames Acheson, Restoration
Jenny Beavan and John Bright, Sense and Sensibility
Shuna Harwood, Richard III
Charles Knode, Braveheart
Julie Weiss, 12 Monkeys
MakeupKen Diaz and Mark Sanchez, My Family: Mi Familia
Greg Cannom, Bob Laden and Colleen Callaghan, Roommates
Peter Frampton, Paul Pattison and Lois Burwell, Braveheart
Visual EffectsScott E. Anderson, Charles Gibson, Neal Scanlan and John Cox, Babe
Robert Legato, Michael Kanfer, Leslie Ekker and Matt Sweeney, Apollo 13
Sound Effects EditingLon Bender and Per Hallberg, Braveheart
John Leveque and Bruce Stambler, Batman Forever
George Watters II, Crimson Tide
Short Films
AnimationThe Chicken From Outerspace (John R. Dilworth, producer; Cartoons, Inc./Cartoon Network Production)
A Close Shave (Nick Park, producer; Aardman Animations Production)
the end (Chris Landreth and Robin Bargar, producers; Alias/Wavefront Production)
Gagarin (Alexij Kharitidi, producer; Second Frog Animation Group Production)
Runaway Brain (Chris Bailey, producer; Walt Disney Pictures Production)
Live ActionBrooms (Luke Cresswell and Steve McNicholas, producers; Yes/No Production)
Duke of Groove (Griffin Dunne and Thom Colwell, producers; Chanticleer Films Production)
Lieberman in Love (Christine Lahti and Jana Sue Memel, producers; Chanticleer Films Production)
Little Surprises (Jeff Goldblum and Tikki Boldberg, producers; Chanticleer Films Production)
Tuesday Morning Ride (Dianne Houston and Joy Ryan, producers; Chanticleer Films Production)
Short SubjectJim Dine: A Self-Portrait on the Walls (Nancy Dine and Richard Stilwell, producers; Outside in July, Inc. Production)
The Living Sea (Greg MacGillivray and Alec Lorimore, producers; MacGillivray Freeman Films Production)
Never Give Up: The 20th-Century Odyssey of Herbert Zipper (Terry Sanders and Freida Lee Mock, producers; American Film Foundation Production)
One Survivor Remembers (Kary Antholis, producer; Home Box Office and The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Production)
The Shadow of Hate (Charles Guggenheim, producer; Guggenheim Productions, Inc. Production)
FeatureAnne Frank Remembered (Jon Blair, producer; Jon Blair Film Company Limited Production)
The Battle Over Citizen Kane (Thomas Lennon and Michael Epstein, producers; Lennon Documentary Group Production)
Fiddlefest: Roberta Tzavaras and Her East Harlem Violin Program (Allan Miller and Walter Scheuer, producers; Four Oaks Foundation Production)
Hank Aaron: Chasing the Dream (Mike Tollin and Fredric Golding, producers; Turner Original Production)
Troublesome Creek: A Midwestern (Jeanne Jordan and Steven Ascher, producers; West City Films, Inc. Production)
Foreign Language FilmAll Things Fair, Sweden
Antonia's Line, The Netherlands
Dust of Life, Algeria
O Quatrilho, Brazil
The Star Maker, Italy
Gordon E. Sawyer AwardDonald C. Rogers for “exceptional long-term accomplishments by an individual who has made substantial contributions toward the advancement of the science and technology of the motion picture”
Special Achievement AwardJohn Lasseter for the development and application of techniques that made possible the first feature-length computer-animated film
Honorary AwardsKirk Douglas for “50 years as a creative and moral force in the motion-picture community”
Chuck Jones for “the creation of classic cartoons and cartoon characters whose animated lives have brought joy to our real ones for more than half a century”

Sources +