1992 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1992 Academy Awards were presented March 29, 1993 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles.

Best PictureThe Crying Game, Stephen Woolley, producer (Miramax)
A Few Good Men, David Brown, Rob Reiner and Andrew Scheinman, producers (Columbia)
Howards End, Ismail Merchant, producer (Sony Pictures Classics)
Scent of a Woman, Martin Brest, producer (Universal)
Unforgiven, Clint Eastwood, producer (Warner Bros.)
Actor in a Leading RoleRobert Downey, Jr., Chaplin
Clint Eastwood, Unforgiven
Al Pacino, Scent of a Woman
Stephen Rea, The Crying Game
Denzel Washington, Malcolm X
Actress in a Leading RoleCatherine Deneuve, Indochine
Mary McDonnell, Passion Fish
Michelle Pfeiffer, Love Field
Susan Sarandon, Lorenzo's Oil
Emma Thompson, Howards End

Emma Thompson, Howards End
Archive Photos
Actor in a Supporting RoleJaye Davidson, The Crying Game
Gene Hackman, Unforgiven
Jack Nicholson, A Few Good Men
Al Pacino, Glengarry Glen Ross
David Paymer, Mr. Saturday Night
Actress in a Supporting RoleJudy Davis, Husbands and Wives
Joan Plowright, Enchanted April
Vanessa Redgrave, Howards End
Miranda Richardson, Damage
Marisa Tomei, My Cousin Vinny
DirectingRobert Altman, The Player
Martin Brest, Scent of a Woman
Clint Eastwood, Unforgiven
James Ivory, Howards End
Neil Jordan, The Crying Game
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenWoody Allen, Husbands and Wives
Neil Jordan, The Crying Game
George Miller and Nick Enright, Lorenzo's Oil
John Sayles, Passion Fish
David Webb Peoples, Unforgiven
Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or PublishedPeter Barnes, Enchanted April
Richard Friedenberg, A River Runs Through It
Bo Goldman, Scent of a Woman
Ruth Prawer Jhabvala, Howards End
Michael Tolkin, The Player
CinematographyStephen H. Burum, Hoffa
Robert Fraisse, The Lover
Jack N. Green, Unforgiven
Tony Pierce-Roberts, Howards End
Philippe Rousselot, A River Runs Through It
Art DirectionLuciana Arrighi, art direction; lan Whittaker, set decoration, Howards End
Henry Bumstead, art direction; Janice Blackie-Goodine, set decoration, Unforgiven
Stuart Craig, art direction; Chris A. Butler, set decoration, Chaplin
Thomas Sanders, art direction; Garrett Lewis, set decoration, Bram Stoker's Dracula
Ferdinando Scarfiotti, art direction; Linda DeScenna, set decoration, Toys
SoundLes Fresholtz, Vern Poore, Dick Alexander and Rob Young, Unforgiven
Chris Jenkins, Doug Hemphill, Mark Smith and Simon Kaye, The Last of the Mohicans
Don Mitchell, Frank A. Montano, Rick Hart and Scott Smith, Under Siege
Kevin O'Connell, Rick Kline and Bob Eber, A Few Good Men
Terry Porter, Mel Metcalfe, David J. Hudson and Doc Kane, Aladdin
Song“Beautiful Maria of My Soul,” The Mambo Kings, Robert Kraft, music; Arne Glimcher, lyrics
“Friend Like Me,” Aladdin, Alan Menken, music; Howard Ashman, lyrics
“I Have Nothing,” The Bodyguard, David Foster, music; Linda Thompson, lyrics
“Run to You,” The Bodyguard, Jud Friedman, music; Allan Rich, lyrics
“A Whole New World,” Aladdin, Alan Menken, music; Tim Rice, lyrics
Original ScoreJohn Barry, Chaplin
Jerry Goldsmith, Basic Instinct
Mark Isham, A River Runs Through It
Alan Menken, Aladdin
Richard Robbins, Howards End
Film EditingJoel Cox, Unforgiven
Robert Leighton, A Few Good Men
Kant Pan, The Crying Game
Geraldine Peroni, The Player
Frank J. Urioste, Basic Instinct
Costume DesignJenny Beavan and John Bright, Howards End
Ruth Carter, Malcolm X
Eiko Ishioka, Bram Stoker's Dracula
Sheena Napier, Enchanted April
Albert Wolsky, Toys
MakeupGreg Cannom, Michèle Burke and Matthew W. Mungle, Bram Stoker's Dracula
Ve Neill, Greg Cannom and John Blake, Hoffa
Ve Neill, Ronnie Specter and Stan Winston, Batman Returns
Visual EffectsRichard Edlund, Alec Gillis, Tom Woodruff, Jr. and George Gibbs, Alien3
Michael Fink, Craig Barron, John Bruno and Dennis Skotak, Batman Returns
Ken Ralston, Doug Chiang, Doug Smythe and Tom Woodruff, Jr., Death Becomes Her
Sound Effects EditingJohn Leveque and Bruce Stambler, Under Siege
Mark Mangini, Aladdin
Tom C. McCarthy and David E. Stone, Bram Stoker's Dracula
Short Films
AnimationAdam (Peter Lord, producer; Aardman Animations Ltd. Production)
Mona Lisa Descending a Staircase (Joan C. Gratz, producer; Joan C. Gratz Production)
Reci, Reci, Reci…(Words, Words, Words) (Michaela Pavlátov á, producer; Krátky Film Production)
The Sandman (Paul Berry, producer; Batty Berry Mackinnon Production)
Screen Play (Barry J.C. Purves, producer; Bare Boards Film Production)
Live ActionContact (Jonathan Darby and Jana Sue Memel, producers; Chanticleer Films)
Cruise Control (Matt Palmieri, producer; Palmieri Pictures Production)
The Lady in Waiting (Christian M. Taylor, producer; Taylor Made Films Production)
Omnibus (Sam Karmann, producer; Lazennec tout court/Le C.R.R.A.V. Production)
Swan Song (Kenneth Branagh and David Parfitt, producers; Renaissance Film PLC Production)
Short SubjectAt the Edge of Conquest: The Journey of Chief Wai-Wai (Geoffrey O'Connor, producer; Realis Pictures Inc. Production)
Beyond Imagining: Margaret Anderson and the “Little Review” (Wendy L. Weinberg, producer; Wendy L. Weinberg Production)
The Colours of My Father: A Portrait of Sam Borenstein (Imageries P.B. Ltd. Production in coproduction with the National Film Board of Canada)
Educating Peter (Thomas C. Goodwin and Gerardine Wurzburg, producers; State of the Art, Inc. Production)
When Abortion Was Illegal: Untold Stories (Dorothy Fadiman, producer; Concentric Media Production)
FeatureChanging Our Minds: The Story of Dr. Evelyn Hooker (David Haugland, producer; Intrepid Production)
Fires of Kuwait (Black Sun Films, Ltd./IMAX Corporation Production)
Liberators: Fighting on Two Fronts in World War II (William Miles and Nina Rosenblum, producers; Miles Educational Film Productions, Inc.)
Music for the Movies: Bernard Herrmann (Alternate Current Inc./Les Films d'Ici Production)
The Panama Deception (Barbara Trent and David Kasper, producers; Empowerment Project Production)
Foreign Language FilmClose to Eden, Russia
Daens, Belgium
Indochine, France
A Place in the World, Uruguay (This film was declared ineligible and removed from the final ballot because it had insufficient Uruguayian artistic control.)
Schtonk, Germany
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian AwardAudrey Hepburn
Elizabeth Taylor
Honorary AwardsTo Federico Fellini in appreciation of one of the screen's master storytellers
To Petro Vlahos in appreciation for outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Sources +