1990 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1990 Academy Awards were presented March 25, 1991 at the Shrine Civic Auditorium, Los Angeles.

Best PictureAwakenings, Walter F. Parkes and Lawrence Lasker, producers (Columbia)
Dances With Wolves, Jim Wilson and Kevin Costner, producers (Orion)
Ghost, Lisa Weinstein, producer (Paramount)
The Godfather Part III, Francis Ford Coppola, producer (Paramount)
GoodFellas, Irwin Winkler, producer (Warner Bros.)
Actor in a Leading RoleKevin Costner, Dances With Wolves
Robert De Niro, Awakenings
Gérard Depardieu, Cyrano de Bergerac
Richard Harris, The Field
Jeremy Irons, Reversal of Fortune
Actress in a Leading RoleKathy Bates, Misery
Anjelica Huston, The Grifters
Julia Roberts, Pretty Woman
Meryl Streep, Postcards From the Edge
Joanne Woodward, Mr. & Mrs. Bridge
Actor in a Supporting RoleBruce Davison, Longtime Companion
Andy Garcia, The Godfather Part III
Graham Greene, Dances With Wolves
Al Pacino, Dick Tracy
Joe Pesci, GoodFellas
Actress in a Supporting RoleAnnette Bening, The Grifters
Lorraine Bracco, GoodFellas
Whoopi Goldberg, Ghost
Diane Ladd, Wild at Heart
Mary McDonnell, Dances With Wolves
DirectingFrancis Ford Coppola, The Godfather Part III
Kevin Costner, Dances With Wolves
Stephen Frears, The Grifters
Barbet Schroeder, Reversal of Fortune
Martin Scorsese, GoodFellas
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenWoody Allen, Alice
Barry Levinson, Avalon
Bruce Joel Rubin, Ghost
Whit Stillman, Metropolitan
Peter Weir, Green Card
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumMichael Blake, Dances With Wolves
Nicholas Kazan, Reversal of Fortune
Nicholas Pileggi and Martin Scorsese, GoodFellas
Donald E. Westlake, The Grifters
Steven Zaillian, Awakenings
CinematographyAllen Daviau, Avalon
Philippe Rousselot, Henry & June
Dean Semler, Dances With Wolves
Vittorio Storaro, Dick Tracy
Gordon Willis, The Godfather Part III
Art DirectionJeffrey Beecroft, art direction; Lisa Dean, set decoration, Dances With Wolves
Dante Ferretti, art direction; Francesca Lo Schiavo, set decoration, Hamlet
Ezio Frigerio, art direction; Jacques Rouxel, set decoration, Cyrano de Bergerac
Richard Sylbert, art direction; Rick Simpson, set decoration, Dick Tracy
Dean Tavoularis, art direction; Gary Fettis, set decoration, The Godfather Part III
SoundDon Bassman, Richard Overton, Kevin F. Cleary and Richard Bryce Goodman, The Hunt for Red October
Chris Jenkins, David E. Campbell, D. M. Hemphill and Thomas Causey, Dick Tracy
Michael J. Kohut, Carlos de Larios, Aaron Rochin and Nelson Stoll, Total Recall
Donald O. Mitchell, Rick Kline, Kevin O'Connell and Charles Wilborn, Days of Thunder
Jeffrey Perkins, Bill W. Benton, Greg Watkins and Russell Williams II, Dances With Wolves
Song“Blaze of Glory,” Young Guns II, Jon Bon Jovi, music and lyrics
“I'm Checkin' Out,” Postcards From the Edge, Shel Silverstein, music and lyrics
“Promise Me You'll Remember,” The Godfather Part III, Carmine Coppola, music; John Bettis, lyrics
“Somewhere in My Memory,” Home Alone, music by John Williams; lyrics by Leslie Bricusse
“Sooner Or Later” (I Always Get My Man), Dick Tracy, Stephen Sondheim, music and lyrics]
Original ScoreJohn Barry, Dances With Wolves
David Grusin, Havana
Maurice Jarre, Ghost
Randy Newman, Avalon
John Williams, Home Alone
Film EditingBarry Malkin, Lisa Fruchtman and Walter Murch, The Godfather Part III
Walter Murch, Ghost
Thelma Schoonmaker, GoodFellas
Neil Travis, Dances With Wolves
Dennis Virkler, John Wright, The Hunt for Red October
Costume DesignMilena Canonero, Dick Tracy
Gloria Gresham, Avalon
Maurizio Millenotti, Hamlet
Franca Squarciapino, Cyrano de Bergerac
Elsa Zamparelli, Dances With Wolves
MakeupMichèle Burke and Jean-Pierre Eychenne, Cyrano de Bergerac
John Caglione, Jr. and Doug Drexler, Dick Tracy
Ve Neill and Stan Winston, Edward Scissorhands
Sound Effects EditingCharles L. Campbell and Richard Franklin, Flatliners
Stephen H. Flick, Total Recall
Cecelia Hall and George Watters II, The Hunt for Red October
Short Films
AnimationCreature Comforts (Nick Park, producer; Aardman Animations Ltd. Production)
A Grand Day Out (Nick Park, producer; National Film and Television School)
Grasshoppers (Cavallette) (Bruno Bozzetto, producer; Bruno Bozzetto Production)
Live ActionBronx Cheers (Raymond De Felitta and Matthew Gross, producers; American Film Institute)
Dear Rosie (Peter Cattaneo and Barnaby Thompson, producers; World's End Production)
The Lunch Date (Adam Davidson, producer; Adam Davidson Production)
Senzeni Na? (What Have We Done?) (Bernard Joffa and Anthony E. Nicholas, producers; American Film Institute)
12: 01 P.M. (Hillary Ripps and Jonathan Heap, producers; Chanticleer Films)
Short SubjectBurning Down Tomorrow (Kit Thomas, producer; Interscope Communications Inc.)
Chimps: So Like Us (Karen Goodman and Kirk Simon, producers; Simon and Goodman Picture Company)
Days of Waiting (Steven Okazaki, producer; Mouchette Films Production)
Journey Into Life: The World of the Unborn (Derek Bromhall, producer; ABC/Kane Productions International, Inc.)
Rose Kennedy: A Life to Remember (Sanders and Mock Productions and American Film Foundation)
FeatureAmerican Dream (Barbara Kopple and Arthur Cohn, producers; Cabin Creek Films)
Berkeley in the Sixties (Mark Kitchell, producer; Berkeley in the Sixties Production Partnership)
Building Bombs (Mark Mori and Susan Robinson, producers; Mori/Robinson Production)
Forever Activists: Stories From the Veterans of the Abraham Lincoln Brigade (Judith Montell, producer; Judith Montell Production)
Waldo Salt: A Screenwriter's Journey (Robert Hillmann and Eugene Corr, producers; Waldo Productions, Inc.)
Foreign Language FilmCyrano de Bergerac, France
Journey of Hope, Switzerland
Ju Dou, People's Republic of China
The Nasty Girl, Germany
Open Doors, Italy
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial AwardDavid Brown and Richard D. Zanuck
Special Achievement Awards
Visual EffectsEric Brevig, Rob Bottin, Tim McGovern and Alex Funke, Total Recall
Honorary AwardsTo Sophia Loren, one of the genuine treasures of world cinema who, in a career rich with memorable performances, has added permanent luster to our art form
To Myrna Loy, in recognition of her extraordinary qualities both on screen and off, with appreciation for a lifetime's worth of indelible performances
To Roderick T. Ryan, Don Trumbull and Geoffrey H. Williamson in appreciation for outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Sources +