1966 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1966 Academy Awards were presented April 10, 1967 at the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium.

Best PictureAlfie, Lewis Gilbert, producer (Paramount)
A Man for All Seasons, Fred Zinnemann, producer (Columbia)
The Russians Are Coming, The Russians Are Coming, Norman Jewison, producer (United Artists)
The Sand Pebbles, Robert Wise, producer (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? Ernest Lehman, producer (Warner Bros.)
Best ActorAlan Arkin, The Russians Are Coming, The Russians Are Coming
Richard Burton, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Michael Caine, Alfie
Steve McQueen, The Sand Pebbles
Paul Scofield, A Man for All Seasons
Best ActressAnouk Aimée, A Man and a Woman
Ida Kaminska, The Shop on Main Street
Lynn Redgrave, Georgy Girl
Vanessa Redgrave, Morgan!
Elizabeth Taylor, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Elizabeth Taylor, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Archive Photos
Actor in a Supporting RoleMako, The Sand Pebbles
James Mason, Georgy Girl
Walter Matthau, The Fortune Cookie
George Segal, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Robert Shaw, A Man for All Seasons
Actress in a Supporting RoleSandy Dennis, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Wendy Hiller, A Man for All Seasons
Jocelyne Lagarde, Hawaii
Vivien Merchant, Alfie
Geraldine Page, You're a Big Boy Now
DirectingMichelangelo Antonioni, Blow-Up
Richard Brooks, The Professionals
Claude Lelouch, A Man and a Woman
Mike Nichols, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Fred Zinnemann, A Man for All Seasons
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumRobert Bolt, A Man for All Seasons
Richard Brooks, The Professionals
Ernest Lehman, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Bill Naughton, Alfie
William Rose, The Russians Are Coming, The Russians Are Coming
Story and Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenMichelangelo Antonioni, story; Michelangelo Antonioni, Tonino Guerra and Edward Bond, Blow-Up
Robert Ardrey, Khartoum
Clint Johnston and Don Peters, The Naked Prey
Claude Lelouch, story; Pierre Uytterhoeven and Claude Lelouch, screenplay, A Man and a Woman
Billy Wilder and I. A. L. Diamond, The Fortune Cookie
Black-and-WhiteMarcel Grignon, Is Paris Burning?
Ken Higgins, Georgy Girl
James Wong Howe, Seconds
Joseph LaShelle, The Fortune Cookie
Haskell Wexler, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
ColorConrad Hall, The Professionals
Russell Harlan, Hawaii
Ernest Laszlo, Fanastic Voyage
Joseph MacDonald, The Sand Pebbles
Ted Moore, A Man for All Seasons
Art Direction
Black-and-WhiteGeorge W. Davis and Paul Groesse, art direction; Henry Grace and Hugh Hunt, set decoration, Mister Buddwing
Willy Holt, art direction; Marc Frederix and Pierre Guffroy, set decoration, Is Paris Burning?
Robert Luthardt, art direction; Edward G. Boyle, set decoration, The Fortune Cookie
Luigi Scaccianoce, art direction, The Gospel According to St. Matthew
Richard Sylbert, art direction; George James Hopkins, set decoration, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
ColorPiero Gherardi, art direction, Juliet of the Spirits
Alexander Golitzen and George C. Webb, art direction; John McCarthy and John Austin, set decoration, Gambit
Boris Leven, art direction; Walter M. Scott, John Sturtevant and William Kiernan, set decoration, The Sand Pebbles
Hal Pereira and Arthur Lonergan, art direction; Robert Benton and James Payne, set decoration, The Oscar
Jack Martin Smith and Dale Hennesy, art direction; Walter M. Scott and Stuart A. Reiss, set decoration, Fantastic Voyage
SoundMGM Studio Sound Dept., Grand Prix
Samuel Goldwyn Studio Sound Dept., Hawaii
Twentieth Century-Fox Studio Sound Dept., The Sand Pebbles
Universal City Studio Sound Dept., Gambit
Warner Bros. Studio Sound Dept., Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Song“Alfie,” Alfie, Burt Bacharach, music; Hal David, lyrics
“Born Free,” Born Free, John Barry, music; Don Black, lyrics
“Georgy Girl,” Georgy Girl, Tom Springfield, music; Jim Dale, lyrics
“My Wishing Doll,” Hawaii, Elmer Bernstein, music; Mack David, lyrics
“A Time for Love,” An American Dream, Johnny Mandel, music; Paul Francis Webster, lyrics
Original Music ScoreJohn Barry, Born Free
Elmer Bernstein, Hawaii
Jerry Goldsmith, The Sand Pebbles
Toshiro Mayuzumi, The Bible
Alex North, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Scoring of Music, Adaptation or TreatmentLuis Enrique Bacalov, The Gospel According to St. Matthew
Elmer Bernstein, Return of the Seven
Al Ham, Stop the World—I Want to Get Off
Harry Sukman, The Singing Nun
Ken Thorne, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
Film EditingHal Ashby and J. Terry Williams, The Russians Are Coming, The Russians Are Coming
William B. Murphy, Fantastic Voyage
Sam O'Steen, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
William Reynolds, The Sand Pebbles
Fredric Steinkamp, Henry Berman, Stewart Linder and Frank Santillo, Grand Prix
Costume Design
Black-and-WhiteDanilo Donati, The Gospel According to St. Matthew
Danilo Donati, Mandragola
Jocelyn Rickards, Morgan!
Helen Rose, Mister Buddwing
Irene Sharaff, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
ColorPiero Gherardi, Juliet of the Spirits
Elizabeth Haffenden and Joan Bridge, A Man for All Seasons
Edith Head, The Oscar
Dorothy Jeakins, Hawaii
Jean Louis, Gambit
Special Visual EffectsArt Cruickshank, Fantastic Voyage
Linwood G. Dunn, Hawaii
Sound EffectsGordon Daniel, Grand Prix
Walter Rossi, Fantastic Voyage
Short Subjects
CartoonThe Drag (National Film Board of Canada; Favorite Films of California)
Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass Double Feature (I Feel Special Series) (Hubley Studios; Paramount)
The Pink Blueprint (Pink Panther Series) (Mirisch-Geoffrey-DePatie-Freleng; United Artists)
Live ActionTurkey the Bridge (Samaritan Productions; Schoenfeld Films)
Wild Wings (British Transport Films; Manson Distributing)
The Winning Strain (Sports in Action Series) (Winik Films; Paramount)
Short SubjectAdolescence (Marin Karmitz and Vladimir Forgency, producers; M.K. Productions)
Cowboy (Ahnemann /Schlosser Productions; U.S. Information Agency)
The Odds Against (Vision Associates Production; American Foundation Institute of Corrections)
Saint Matthew Passion (Mafilm Studios Production; Hungarofilm)
A Year Toward Tomorrow (Sun Dial Films, Inc.; Office of Economic Opportunity)
FeatureThe Face of Genius (WBZ-TV, Group W, Boston)
Helicopter Canada (National Film Board of Canada Centennial Commission; National Film Board of Canada)
Le Volcan Interdit (The Forbidden Volcano) (Cine Documents Tazieff; Athos Films)
The Really Big Family (Alex Grasshoff, producer; David L. Wolper Production)
The War Game (BBC Production for the British Film Institute; Pathé Contemporary Films)
Foreign Language FilmThe Battle of Algiers, Italy
Loves of a Blonde, Czechoslovakia
A Man and a Woman, France
Pharaoh, Poland
Three, Yugoslavia
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial AwardRobert Wise
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian AwardGeorge Bagnall
Honorary AwardsTo Y. Frank Freeman for unusual and outstanding service to the Academy during his 30 years in Hollywood
To Yakima Canutt for achievements as a stuntman and for developing safety devices to protect stuntmen everywhere

Sources +