1965 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1965 Academy Awards were presented April 18, 1966 at the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium.

Best PictureDarling, Joseph Janni, producer (Embassy Pictures Corp.)
Doctor Zhivago, Carlo Ponti, producer (MGM)
Ship of Fools, Stanley Kramer, producer (Columbia)
The Sound of Music, Robert Wise, producer (Twentieth Century-Fox)
A Thousand Clowns, Fred Coe, producer (United Artists)

The Sound of Music
Archive Photos
Best ActorRichard Burton, The Spy Who Came in From the Cold
Lee Marvin, Cat Ballou
Laurence Olivier, Othello
Rod Steiger, The Pawnbroker
Oskar Werner, Ship of Fools
Best ActressJulie Andrews, The Sound of Music
Julie Christie, Darling
Samantha Eggar, The Collector
Elizabeth Hartman, A Patch of Blue
Simone Signoret, Ship of Fools
Actor in a Supporting RoleMartin Balsam, A Thousand Clowns
Ian Bannen, The Flight of the Phoenix
Tom Courtenay, Doctor Zhivago
Michael Dunn, Ship of Fools
Frank Finlay, Othello
Actress in a Supporting RoleRuth Gordon, Inside Daisy Clover
Joyce Redman, Othello
Maggie Smith, Othello
Shelley Winters, A Patch of Blue
Peggy Wood, The Sound of Music
DirectingDavid Lean, Doctor Zhivago
John Schlesinger, Darling
Hiroshi Teshigahara, Woman in the Dunes
Robert Wise, The Sound of Music
William Wyler, The Collector
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumRobert Bolt, Doctor Zhivago
Herb Gardner, A Thousand Clowns
Abby Mann, Ship of Fools
Stanley Mann and John Kohn, The Collector
Walter Newman and Frank R. Pierson, Cat Ballou
Story and Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenAge, Scarpelli, Mario Monicelli, Tonino Guerra, Giorgio Salvioni and Suso Cecchi D'Amico, Casanova 70
Franklin Coen and Frank Davis, The Train
Jack Davies and Ken Annakin, Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Machines
Jacques Demy, The Umbrellas of Cherbourg
Frederic Raphael, Darling
Black-and-WhiteRobert Burks, A Patch of Blue
Loyal Griggs, In Harm's Way
Burnett Guffey, King Rat
Conrad Hall, Morituri
Ernest Laszlo, Ship of Fools
ColorRussell Harlan, The Great Race
Ted McCord, The Sound of Music
William C. Mellor and Loyal Griggs, The Greatest Story Ever Told
Leon Shamroy, The Agony and the Ecstasy
Freddie Young, Doctor Zhivago
Art Direction
Black-and-WhiteRobert Clatworthy, art direction; Joseph Kish, set decoration, Ship of Fools
George W. Davis and Urie McCleary, art direction; Henry Grace and Charles S. Thompson, set decoration, A Patch of Blue
Hal Pereira, Tambi Larsen and Edward Marshall, art direction; Josie MacAvin, set decoration, The Spy Who Came in From the Cold
Hal Pereira and Jack Poplin, art direction; Robert Benton and Joseph Kish, set decoration, The Slender Thread
Robert Emmet Smith, art direction; Frank Tuttle, set decoration, King Rat
ColorJohn Box and Terry Marsh, art direction; Dario Simoni, set decoration, Doctor Zhivago
Robert Clatworthy, art direction; George James Hopkins, set decoration, Inside Daisy Clover
Richard Day, William Creber and David Hall, art direction; Ray Moyer, Fred MacLean and Norman Rockett, set decoration, The Greatest Story Ever Told
John DeCuir and Jack Martin Smith, art direction; Dario Simoni, set decoration, The Agony and the Ecstasy
Boris Leven, art direction; Walter M. Scott and Ruby Levitt, set decoration, The Sound of Music
SoundMGM British Studio Sound Dept. and MGM Studio Sound Dept., Doctor Zhivago
Twentieth Century-Fox Studio Sound Dept., The Agony and the Ecstasy
Twentieth Century-Fox Studio Sound Dept. and Todd-AO Sound Dept., The Sound of Music
Universal City Studio Sound Dept., Shenandoah
Warner Bros. Studio Sound Dept., The Great Race
Song“The Ballad of Cat Ballou,” Cat Ballou, Jerry Livingston, music; Mack David, lyrics
“I Will Wait for You,” The Umbrellas of Cherbourg, Michel Legrand, music; Jacques Demy, lyrics
“The Shadow of Your Smile,” The Sandpiper, Johnny Mandel, music; Paul Francis Webster, lyrics
“The Sweetheart Tree,” The Great Race, Henry Mancini, music; Johnny Mercer, lyrics
“What's New, Pussycat?,” What's New, Pussycat?, Burt Bacharach, music; Hal David, lyrics
Musical Score, Substantially OriginalJerry Goldsmith, A Patch of Blue
Maurice Jarre, Doctor Zhivago
Michel Legrand and Jacques Demy, The Umbrellas of Cherbourg
Alfred Newman, The Greatest Story Ever Told
Alex North, The Agony and the Ecstasy
Scoring of Music, Adaptation or TreatmentDeVol, Cat Ballou
Irwin Kostal, The Sound of Music
Michel Legrand, The Umbrellas of Cherbourg
Lionel Newman and Alexander Courage, The Pleasure Seekers
Don Walker, A Thousand Clowns
Film EditingMichael Luciano, The Flight of the Phoenix
Charles Nelson, Cat Ballou
William Reynolds, The Sound of Music
Norman Savage, Doctor Zhivago
Ralph E. Winters, The Great Race
Costume Design
Black-and-WhiteJulie Harris, Darling
Edith Head, The Slender Thread
Moss Mabry, Morituri
Howard Shoup, A Rage to Live
Bill Thomas and Jean Louis, Ship of Fools
ColorPhyllis Dalton, Doctor Zhivago
Edith Head and Bill Thomas, Inside Daisy Clover
Dorothy Jeakins, The Sound of Music
Vittorio Nino Novarese, The Agony and the Ecstasy
Vittorio Nino Novarese and Marjorie Best, The Greatest Story Ever Told
Special Visual EffectsJ. McMillan Johnson, The Greatest Story Ever Told
John Stears, Thunderball
Sound Effects EditingTregoweth Brown, The Great Race
Walter A. Rossi, Von Ryan's Express
Short Subjects
CartoonClay or the Origin of Species (Harvard University; Pathé Contemporary Films)
The Dot and the Line (Chuck Jones and Les Goldman, producers; MGM)
The Thieving Magpie (La Gazza Ladra) (Giulio Gianni-Emanuele Luzzati; Allied Artists)
Live ActionThe Chicken (Le Poulet) (Renn Productions; Pathé Contemporary Films)
Fortress of Peace (Lothar Wolff Productions for Farner-Looser Films; Cinerama)
Skaterdater (Byway Productions; United Artists)
Snow (British Transport Films in association with Geoffrey Jones, Ltd.; Manson Distributing)
Time Piece (Muppets, Inc.; Pathé Contemporary Films)
Short SubjectMural on Our Street (Henry Street Settlement; Pathé Contemporary Films)
Ouverture (Mafilm Studios Production; Hungarofilm-Pathé Contemporary Films)
Point of View (Vision Associates Production; National Tuberculosis Association)
To Be Alive! (Francis Thompson, producer; Johnson Wax)
Yeats Country (Patrick Carey and Joe Mendoza, producers; Aengus Films for the Dept. of External Affairs of Ireland)
FeatureThe Battle of the Bulge…The Brave Rifles (Laurence E. Mascott, producer; Mascott Productions)
The Eleanor Roosevelt Story (Sidney Glazier Production; American International)
The Forth Road Bridge (Random Film Productions; Shell-Mex and B.P. Film Library)
Let My People Go (Marshall Flaum, producer; David L. Wolper Productions)
To Die in Madrid (Ancinex Productions; Altura Films International)
Foreign Language FilmBlood on the Land, Greece
Dear John, Sweden
Kwaidan, Japan
Marriage Italian Style, Italy
The Shop on Main Street, Czechoslovakia
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial AwardWilliam Wyler
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian AwardEdmond L. DePatie
Honorary AwardTo Bob Hope for unique and distinguished service to our industry and the Academy

Sources +