1952 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1952 Academy Awards were presented March 19, 1953 at the RKO Pantages Theatre, Hollywood, Calif and the NBC International Theatre, New York, N.Y.

Best Motion PictureThe Greatest Show on Earth, Cecil B. DeMille, producer (Paramount)
High Noon, Stanley Kramer, producer (United Artists)
Ivanhoe, Pandro S. Berman, producer (MGM)
Moulin Rouge, John Huston, producer (United Artists)
The Quiet Man, John Ford and Merian C. Cooper, producers (Republic)

The Greatest Show on Earth
Archive Photos
Best ActorMarlon Brando, Viva Zapata!
Gary Cooper, High Noon
Kirk Douglas, The Bad and the Beautiful
José Ferrer, Moulin Rouge
Alec Guinness, The Lavender Hill Mob
Best ActressShirley Booth, Come Back, Little Sheba
Joan Crawford, Sudden Fear
Bette Davis, The Star
Julie Harris, The Member of the Wedding
Susan Hayward, With a Song in My Heart
Actor in a Supporting RoleRichard Burton, My Cousin Rachel
Arthur Hunnicutt, The Big Sky
Victor McLaglen, The Quiet Man
Jack Palance, Sudden Fear
Anthony Quinn, Viva Zapata!
Actress in a Supporting RoleGloria Grahame, The Bad and the Beautiful
Jean Hagen, Singin'in the Rain
Colette Marchand, Moulin Rouge
Terry Moore, Come Back, Little Sheba
Thelma Ritter, With a Song in My Heart
DirectingCecil B. DeMille, The Greatest Show on Earth
John Ford, The Quiet Man
John Huston, Moulin Rouge
Joseph L. Mankiewicz, Five Fingers
Fred Zinnemann, High Noon
Motion Picture StoryEdna Anhalt and Edward Anhalt, The Sniper
Frederic M. Frank, Theodore St. John and Frank Cavett, The Greatest Show on Earth
Martin Goldsmith and Jack Leonard, The Narrow Margin
Leo McCarey, My Son John
Guy Trosper, The Pride of St. Louis
ScreenplayCarl Foreman, High Noon
Roger MacDougall, John Dighton and Alexander Mackendrick, The Man in the White Suit
Frank S. Nugent, The Quiet Man
Charles Schnee, The Bad and the Beautiful
Michael Wilson, Five Fingers
Story and ScreenplaySydney Boehm, The Atomic City
T.E.B. Clarke, The Lavender Hill Mob
Ruth Gordon and Garson Kanin, Pat and Mike
Terence Rattigan, Breaking the Sound Barrier
John Steinbeck, Viva Zapata!
Black-and-WhiteRussell Harlan, The Big Sky
Charles B. Lang, Jr., Sudden Fear
Joseph LaShelle, My Cousin Rachel
Virgil E. Miller, Navajo
Robert Surtees, The Bad and the Beautiful
ColorGeorge J. Folsey, Million Dollar Mermaid
Winton C. Hoch and Archie Stout, The Quiet Man
Leon Shamroy, The Snows of Kilimanjaro
Harry Stradling, Hans Christian Andersen
F.A. Young, Ivanhoe
Art Direction
Black-and-WhiteCedric Gibbons and Edward Carfagno, art direction; Edwin B. Willis and Keogh Gleason, set decoration, The Bad and the Beautiful
Matsuyama, art direction; H. Motsumoto, set decoration, Rashomon
Hal Pereira and Roland Anderson, art direction; Emile Kuri, set decoration, Carrie
Lyle Wheeler and John DeCuir, art direction; Walter M. Scott, set decoration, My Cousin Rachel
Lyle Wheeler and Leland Fuller, art direction; Thomas Little and Claude Carpenter, set decoration, Viva Zapata!
ColorRichard Day and Clave, art direction; Howard Bristol, set decoration, Hans Christian Andersen
Cedric Gibbons and Paul Groesse, art direction; Edwin B. Willis and Arthur Krams, set decoration, The Merry Widow
Frank Hotaling, art direction; John McCarthy, Jr. and Charles Thompson, set decoration, The Quiet Man
Paul Sheriff, art direction; Marcel Vertes, set decoration, Moulin Rouge
Lyle Wheeler and John DeCuir, art direction; Thomas Little and Paul S. Fox, set decoration, The Snows of Kilimanjaro
Sound RecordingLondon Film Sound Dept., Breaking the Sound Barrier
Pinewood Studios Sound Dept., The Promoter
Republic Studio Sound Dept.; Daniel J. Bloomberg, The Quiet Man
Samuel Goldwyn Studio Sound Dept., Hans Christian Andersen
Twentieth Century-Fox Studio Sound Dept., Thomas T. Moulton, With a Song in My Heart
Song“Am I in Love,” Son of Paleface, Jack Brooks, music
“Because You're Mine,” Because You're Mine, Nicholas Brodszky, music; Sammy Cahn, lyrics
“High Noon” (Do Not Forsake Me, Oh My Darlin'), High Noon, Dimitri Tiomkin, music; Ned Washington, lyrics
“Thumbelina,” Hans Christian Andersen, Frank Loesser, music and lyrics
“Zing a Little Zong,” Just for You, Harry Warren, music; Leo Robin, lyrics
Scoring of a Dramatic or Comedy PictureHerschel Burke Gilbert, The Thief
Alex North, Viva Zapata!
Miklos Rozsa, Ivanhoe
Max Steiner, The Miracle of Our Lady of Fatima
Dimitri Tiomkin, High Noon
Scoring of a Musical PictureLennie Hayton, Singin' in the Rain
Ray Heindorf and Max Steiner, The Jazz Singer
Gian-Carlo Menotti, The Medium
Alfred Newman, With a Song in My Heart
Walter Scharf, Hans Christian Andersen
Film EditingWilliam Austin, Flat Top
Anne Bauchens, The Greatest Show on Earth
Ralph Kemplen, Moulin Rouge
Warren Low, Come Back, Little Sheba
Elmo Williams and Harry Gerstad, High Noon
Costume Design
Black-and-WhiteEdith Head, Carrie
Charles LeMaire and Dorothy Jeakins, My Cousin Rachel
Jean Louis, Affair in Trinidad
Sheila O'Brien, Sudden Fear
Helen Rose, The Bad and the Beautiful
ColorClave, Mary Wills and Madame Karinska, Hans Christian Andersen
Edith Head, Dorothy Jeakins and Miles White, The Greatest Show on Earth
Charles LeMaire, With a Song in My Heart
Helen Rose and Gile Steele, The Merry Widow
Marcel Vertes, Moulin Rouge
Special EffectsPlymouth Adventure (MGM)
Short Subjects
CartoonJohann Mouse (Tom and Jerry Series) (Frederick Quimby, producer; MGM)
Little Johnny Jet (MGM Series) (Frederick Quimby, producer; MGM)
Madeline (Jolly Frolics Series) (United Productions of America; Columbia)
Pink and Blue Blues (Mister Magoo Series) (United Productions of America; Columbia)
Romance of Transportation (Tom Daly, producer; National Film Board of Canada)
One-ReelAthletes of the Saddle (Grantland Rice Sportlights Series) (Jack Eaton, producer; Paramount)
Desert Killer (Sports Parade Series) (Gordon Hollingshead, producer; Warner Bros.)
Light in the Window (Art Film Series) (Art Film Productions; Twentieth Century-Fox)
Neighbours (National Film Board of Canada; Arthur Mayer-Edward Kingsley, Inc.)
Royal Scotland (Crown Film Unit; British Information Services)
Two-ReelBridge of Time (London Films; British Information Services)
Devil Take Us (Theatre of Life Series) (Herbert Morgan, producer; Theatre of Life Production)
Thar She Blows! (Technicolor Special Series) (Gordon Hollingshead, producer; Warner Bros.)
Water Birds (True-Life Adventure Series) (Walt Disney Productions; RKO Radio)
Short SubjectDevil Take Us (Herbert Morgan, producer; Theatre of Life Production)
The Garden Spider (Epeira Diadema) (Cristallo Films; I.F.E. Releasing Corp.)
Man Alive! (United Productions of America; American Cancer Society)
Neighbours (National Film Board of Canada; Arthur Mayer-Edward Kingsley, Inc.)
FeatureThe Hoaxters (Dore Schary, producer; MGM)
Navajo (Bartlett-Foster Productions; Lippert Pictures, Inc.)
The Sea Around Us (Irwin Allen, producer; RKO Radio)
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial AwardCecil B. DeMille
Honorary AwardsTo George Alfred Mitchell for the design and development of the camera which bears his name and for his continued and dominant presence in the field of cinematography
To Joseph M. Schenck for long and distinguished service to the motion picture industry
To Merian C. Cooper for his many innovations and contributions to the art of motion pictures
To Harold Lloyd, master comedian and good citizen
To Bob Hope for his contribution to the laughter of the world, his service to the motion picture industry and his devotion to the American premise
To Forbidden Games (France), best foreign language film first released in the United States during 1952

Sources +